We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large amount for nominal price”

Chalet Restaurant & Bakery
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Eureka, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Large amount for nominal price”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Dinner - potroast - huge portion, cooked perfectly and tasty (not salty), great service, friendly and knowledgeable waitress.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Lecats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    138
    44
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Decent family style restaurant”
Reviewed December 10, 2011

I visited after traveling all day from the DC area & driving from Eugene. I was exhausted & starving. I just wanted decent food with no stress & this fit the bill. I had a generous sized grilled salmon which was very satisfying. For dessert I had an absolutely delicious hazelnut pie... like a pecan pie with hazelnuts instead. The waitress was friendly & patient while my brain went into spasms & I had trouble answering simple questions. I came in exhausted & left feeling much better & refreshed. This is not a top of the line restaurant, but the food was a good value and the service friendly.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PrettyKitties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC Washington
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Spot”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Was recommended by in-laws that visit Newport each summer. Pulled in and there were 3 police cars in the parking lot! No that's a good sign. Cops don't eat mediocre food :). Were not disappointed. Good breakfast at a reasonable price.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffry P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Still The Same”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We found the Chalet Restaurant & Bakery on a previous trip to Newport, and what a pleasant surprise it was. Our recent trip to Newport we at there twice for breakfast and was not disappointed on our return trip. It was a pleasant surprise to find that the service, prices and food were as good as our first experience. A previous reviewer asked "Is there no place else", or something like that. In our breakfast quest in Newport, the answer is a resounding NO. We have tried several of the local eateries and find that the Chalet offers the best selections, most reasonable prices and the best service. No wonder it was voted as "The Best Breakfast Place in Lincoln County." Would like to go back for the pies for which they're also famous for.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Good value, home-style food”
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We ate here twice on a recent visit. Huge amount of food so you might avoid half of the carbs. But tasty and good value! Yummy pie!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank An0ther0pini0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chalet Restaurant & Bakery also viewed

 
Newport, Oregon Coast
 
Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Chalet Restaurant & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing