We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sylvia Beach Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Comfort Inn Newport(Newport)(Great Value!)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport(Newport)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Agate Beach Inn(Newport)(Great Value!)
$150
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agate Beach Motel(Newport)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveler rating
145
92
27
20
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
92
27
20
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsagatha christiebook loversfamily stylereading roomthird floorother guestsliterary themespiced riceharry pottershakespeare roomhouse catmark twainthemed roomslibrary readinghot mulled winejk rowlingdr seuss
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 301 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2014

My youngest daughter and I spend one April weekend every year at Sylvia Beach Hotel, enjoying the quiet surroundings and inspiring views. The hotel staff is awesome, intent on making the guests' stay the very best. Its not for everyone, since there are no TV's, room phones or Wi-Fi. Every room is styled after a different author, and updated every so often. We just stayed in the new Steinbeck room as we work our way through all the authors. Leave little kids and pets with grandma, and hide out at Sylvia Beach Hotel. Oh, and the breakfasts are sublime!

Room Tip: There's no elevator, and the old building has steep stairs. There are nice rooms available on the first floor.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ava W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We first saw this 100 year old hotel on a previous visit to Newport several years ago and took the time then to explore, thinking we might want to stay here sometime in the future. We had a very enjoyable stay here. The rooms are named and decorated for a literary author. We had the Mark Twain room for two nights, with an amazing view, overlooking the Pacific Ocean, where we sat and watched the waves crash into the beach. Other rooms were Dr. Seuss, J.K. Rowling, and Jules Vern etc. Our room had a wood burning fireplace which we took advantage of our 2nd night. The third floor is called the library, complete with wood burning fireplace, sofas and chairs that can be set at the windows to read your book or to watch the waves on a stormy afternoon and of course a selection of books. Coffee & tea are provided in an adjoining room and breakfast was included each morning. Room rates are not cheap, but the overall experience justifies the cost in my opinion.

Room Tip: Ocean view is best
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank E N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We had been here about ten years ago. Looking at some of the lower reviews and comparing dates it looks like there was a low time for this establishment around 2008 - 2010. Now it is once again the best for what it has to offer. The quiet and the ocean view by themselves are enough. When you throw in the books, the fireplace, the free spiced wine, it becomes a superb place. A place for intellectuals, for artists, for travelers of all kinds. Not very child friendly being a place geared towards reading. The hotel is located in the center of the Nye Beach area, the touristic area of Newport OR, overlooking the beach, situated on an impressive hill offering a wide view of the ocean. It is surrounded by restaurants, coffee shops, book stores, all within very short walking distance. If you are looking for a quiet time to internalize, this is it. And you will be coming back.

Room Tip: You can book one of the classics for an awesome ocean view, but any other room is great because most of the time you'll spend in the library and reading room upstairs.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tibi789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Here I sit in the deep pocket of the overstuffed chair in the Jane Austen room looking down at the kites on Nye Beach and across the water to the Yaquina Bay lighthouse. Is this room for you? There's no t.v. or closet, no wifi or clock radio. People come to the Sylvia Beach Hotel to read--in their rooms, and in the ocean front library of old couches and comfy chairs while listening to the sounds of the sea and the winds rattling the windows. While the beauty of the coast and the ocean are at hand, here you always have the opportunity to sneak back to your room and spend time with Colette, J.R. Rowling, Amy Tan, Dr. Seuss, Oscar Wilde, etc. This is a hotel for book lovers. A full breakfast in the "Table of Contents" restaurant is included in the price. And hot spiced wine is free in the library nightly around 10 p.m.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MacinMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We have spent many happy times at the Sylvia Beach Hotel. A planned Christmas Holiday, a Gathering of Friends, Old & New, a spontaneous visit to the Women's Dorm after a car breakdown. I've stayed in many different rooms and all were charming. I love the 2 story Library, the hot spiced wine, the wonderful breakfasts, the fun at dinner playing two truths and a lie. The creaky stairs, the house cat, the absence of TV and telephones...what an escape...a lovely experience.

Room Tip: Visit on a midweek early afternoon and check out the delightfully appointed rooms to choose a favorite.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skye_zeph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews