We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean House Bed and Breakfast
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Newport
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Agate Beach Motel(Newport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveler rating
255
26
7
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
255
26
7
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdawn and craigb bwhite capsrose roomcomplimentary winefire piteast roomcookiesoregon coastother guestsprivate pathwonderful hoststhe main housebreakfast was deliciousthought of everythinglarge pictureevery afternoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
236 - 241 of 288 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Our stay at the Ocean House B & B was lovely. The house is on a high bluff and the rooms have a view of the ocean through the trees. We were in the Far East room for 3 nights and appreciated the lovely serenity of an Asian themed room. The gas fireplace is nice when the weather is wet and stormy. The chairs were very comfortable. It takes a bit of getting used to living without a phone (I guess most people have cell phones these days but I don't) and without the small refrigerator most hotels have these days (we used our small cooler with ice for our sodas and that worked fine). The price is high for us but we felt it was worth it. The innkeepers, Craig & Dawn, were friendly and interesting. One small kind of strange thing - there was a full length mirror positioned directly opposite the toilet. We hung a scarf over it and that worked well. Newport is an interesting and lively place. When we visit next time, we will definitely stay at the Ocean House B & B.

Room Tip: If climbing stairs is a problem, be sure to ask for a room on the main floor. Also arrange to be dropped off at the front door since parking is on a different level and requires significant stairs.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winterbird40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had a wonderful 2-night stay at Ocean House the 2nd week of October. We stayed in Far East and the bed and linens were both comfortable. The room has a decent view of the beach. The house itself is comfortable with a few different areas to sit and relax. Dawn and Craig were both very friendly and gave excellent dinner recommendations for both nights we were there - places we never would have tried on our own. The house and surrounding area seemed quiet and there is a path (steps) that leads directly down to the beach. Overall we loved our visit and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJandJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We spent one night at Ocean House Bed & Breakfast and loved it, even though we had travel problems (airline, not the Ocean House). Our flight was delayed by several hours forcing us to arrive very late (2:30 AM). We contacted Ocean House and the owners were very helpful, taping an envelope to the outside door with a key and information about our room. We were able to get into our room quickly and rested very well. The breakfast the next morning was outstanding! Outstanding is also the word we would use for the facility and its spectacular location at the beach and near the lighthouse. They are also working to improve the grounds even more. We hope to stay there again and highly recommend Ocean House B & B.

Room Tip: Swimming pool and fitness center not rated. This is a B & B and swimming was not likely in November.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wino4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great quiet location. Attractive views through trees from rooms from a bluff above the beach/ocean. Short trail leads down to expansive sand beach. Dawn and Craig provided advice about the area and a tasty eggs benedict/fruit cobbler breakfast. The rooms and property need a bit of care; e.g. some water damage on window sashes, mildew on exterior siding. A couple of rooms are available at a discount mid-week. Very nice living room with views of the ocean. Snacks and drinks available 24/7.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadtripper03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceanhousebb, Owner at Ocean House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Roadtripper is right, we have work to do. After acquiring this property about a year ago, we have been improving everything. Unfortunately we had not gotten to those items mentioned, so we thank Roadtripper for pointing them out. However, it does not stop there. We have plans for many other improvements in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

beautiful and clean with very nice extras. we stayed in the far east room. one of four windows provided nice view of ocean and beach. very quiet. breakfast was a lot of sugar - we would prefer not so sweet. we arrived a few minutes early and that seemed to agitate craig a bit, however he recovered nicely the rest of our stay. cookies were wonderful. coffee and tea are provided 24/7. do go and enjoy the crab at a restaurant along bay blvd. would definitely recommend. ask for AARP, military, etc discounts.

Room Tip: do ask for AARP, military, etc discounts. did not see other rooms, so not able to recommend one over another.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yayrockymtns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceanhousebb, Owner at Ocean House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

We are happy to accommodate early arrivals when we are informed beforehand. When we have unscheduled early arrivals 2-3 hours before check in, it may interrupt our scheduled preparations and the surprise may cause a little chaos. We are happy you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews