We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best clam chowder in Newport”
Review of Nye Beach Cafe

Nye Beach Cafe
Ranked #10 of 111 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: Healthy, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Bradenton, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best clam chowder in Newport”
Reviewed September 3, 2014

Don't miss the homemade clam chowder and fruit pies. Beer and wine available too, but limited selections. Comfortable and friendly staff.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Randall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    60
    11
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mediocre food, poor service. ”
Reviewed September 3, 2014 via mobile

I ate at Nye Beach Café with friends yesterday for brunch. My friend and I ordered crab cakes and eggs. My other friend ordered potatoes and eggs. Both of my friends ordered coffee and I ordered tea. We specifically asked for sugar, but the waitress did not bring it. We asked two more times before she brought a handful of artificial sweeteners and three packets of sugar. When we asked for water she brought one glass of water to the table. The crab cakes were not particularly tasty and contained fairly large pieces of crab shell in them. The hash browns, on the other hand, we're delicious and the bread was homemade and fresh. Their homemade jam was delicious, but when I asked if the cafe had jam for sale, the waitress replied "she is barely able to keep up with the amount needed for the restaurant." I'm assuming that she was talking about the owner. This seemed like an unprofessional reply, but it matched her service which was slow, unprofessional, and unconcerned. There were only two other tables (four people total, who were already finishing up) in the restaurant, but the service was very slow and the food mediocre and overpriced for the quality. I will not return.

Helpful?
Thank Lindie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Must have again!”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

This is the best breakfast I've had in a very long time! I just might fly from Texas just to eat here again. The huevos rancheros are to die for, and the caprese omelette was fabulous!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ginger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for breakfast. Delicious, quality food. Great service! Small cafe with pleasant atmosphere. The staff is friendly and attentive. Food cooked to perfection. Coffee is good. Walking distance from nearby oceanfront motels.

Helpful?
Thank Chivohvoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always Fresh and Locally Sourced Food”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Proprietor Judy is committed to use the best, natural and locally sourced ingredients for all her menu items. There's fresh made bread everyday and many wonderful specials and surprises for the breakfast and lunch diner. We've been back every time we travel to the Oregon Coast and Newport.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nye Beach Cafe also viewed

 
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Nye Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing