We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Hippies”
Review of Cafe Mundo

Cafe Mundo
Ranked #20 of 111 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good for Hippies”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We always visit when we're in Newport.
Funky atmosphere, lots of interesting art about.
Mostly adults but of all ages. Open mic isn't too loud.
Good beer.Healthy food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank FelixDCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    83
    14
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrific food after a long bike journey”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Quirky in a great way, I walked in and said "why oh why can't we have places like this in DC?" Great food (very healthy AND very very tasty), generous portions and warm service. I wanted four things on the menu, it all looked so good. I wish we had gone back for dinner! Sit by the window and enjoy the breeze from the ocean in the distance.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank biku-ilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
102 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very eclectic, fun place to eat.”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Our relatives who we are visiting are Vegans. They had been preparing dinner for us the last 2 nites so we offered to take them to dinner they suggested Cafe Mundo. We sat upstairs and drank beer and wine which was delicious. My Wife and I had the fish tacos,I liked them she didn't. My vegan friends ate sushi and salads. It was a Saturday nite and there was a band, playing old time music, big band stuff with a lady singing. I felt like I was at a wedding reception. People were dancing and having a great time. The music seemed out of place in this place but it worked. I enjoyed myself and liked my time there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Funky and good”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Cafe Mundo is what brings my wife and I back to Newport. We love the funky atmosphere and the food is wonderful. Plan to sit and enjoy for awhile. You should be relaxing in Newport. It is worth it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D0N01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grande, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Last Night in Newport”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

After reading the reviews and checking out the menu, we decided to stop in at Cafe Mundo. We both ordered the Albacore Burgers, which we were told had been purchased from a fisherman they'd been working with for years. Burgers came with a salad side. The tuna was great! Flavor and texture was appetizing and we both enjoyed our meals. Service was average, but our server was very nice. The location itself was very eclectic and fun. We would visit again should we make it back to Newport.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryH2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Mundo also viewed

Newport, Oregon Coast
 
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Cafe Mundo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing