We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”
Review of Anchor Pier Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anchor Pier Lodge
Ranked #4 of 7 Newport B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My husband and I discovered this place while on our honeymoon in 2008. We had been staying someplace else in Newport but it just wasn't anything special. We were walking down along the bay front checking out the wax museum and Ripley's (as we do every time we're in town) and happened to walk by the poster showing the rooms. We were so excited - it was just what we had been looking for! We went in to check it out and were even more excited by the price - it was less than we were paying at the lame-o chain we were staying at! We called over and cancelled the other room and moved into the Captain's Quarters for the rest of our Newport time. It was a GREAT decision.

Now, we only stay here when we come to visit. Our last trip was in October 2011 - we again stayed in the Captain's Quarters. Just as wonderful as the first time. The staff is always so nice and they also have these super fun whale watching tours associated with the location. We took one in October but the seas were too rough to make it to the ocean. Instead, the captain let us ramp off waves for a while and then gave us a nice tour in the opposite direction. It was amazing.

Some have mentioned the sea lions and it's true they can be noisy, but we love them. The rooms all have nice balcony's with chairs to sit outside and enjoy the cacophony. Sleeping wise, they've never bothered us, however, I noticed on the clock radios they have a setting for different "white noises" you can play - we turned on the waves crashing one and couldn't even hear the barking over top of it.

I would highly recommend staying here - beautiful rooms, comfortable beds, really great touches in each room and a great staff. Also, great location - you can walk to a ton of great places to eat. We loved that too.

Lacey Oman

Room Tip: We've only stayed in the Captain's Quarters (last room on the corner) and love it. We've...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LacerX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorPierTeam, Public Relations Manager at Anchor Pier Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2017
Hi, Lacey - catching up with our favorite review site... Thanks so much for the lovely words & staying with us when you visit Newport! You're right - Excepting mid-June - mid-August, we have a lively Sea Lion colony in the vicinity + sea gulls + fishing boats rumbling by... We always mention those neighbors, pre-check in & like you, our returning guests love the "Crashing Ocean Waves" mode on their white sound button. (Most of us have them at home now - awesome sleep!) Looking forward to your next return, with gratitude!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Independence or
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Since we had such a great stay here last year, I booked the Surfer Dude room for my Husbands 50th Birthday. We had a wonderful time. The room decor was absolutely perfect, dude!!
We had 2 cold Rogues waiting on ice for us. The staff I had made reservations with over the phone and the staff greeting us upon arrival were absolutely wonderful in every aspect. The bed was comforable and the room very clean. We had a hot tub for relaxing, looking out to the bay and the boats. There was a small gas fireplace adding to the ambience of the room. The entire stay was relaxing and rejuvinating. My Husband said he had Great Birthday.
Thank you people of Anchor Pier for creating such a memorable stay. You do great!!

Room Tip: Each room here is decorated differently. Our first stay was in the Garden Room and this stay the Sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Three333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorPierTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor Pier Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2017
We so appreciate your review! We love being "Party Planners" - tucking a bottle of Champagne, Sparkling Cider or Rogue Ale (our local champagne!) into an ice bucket for arrival. Cheers & Hope to see you back this year! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tualatin, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have stayed here several times and have been very pleased every time we stay. Some may find the barking sea lions annoying, but we enjoy watching them and listening to them. It's a great location, very comfortable and private rooms as well as super friendly staff!

Room Tip: If you prefer not to listen to the barking sea lions, pick the street side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellygregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorPierTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor Pier Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2017
Recently able to set up a reply mode - Delighted to read your review! We love greeting returning guests, as well as first timers - the harbor, vessel traffic, sea life migrations & fresh seafood changes monthly, so always fun to put out the Welcome Mat! Thanks & looking forward to seeing you in 2017 :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

My wife and I just "stumbled" in to the gift shop and noticed that there were theme rooms upstairs to stay in. We selected the Surfer Dude room. Great accommodation and spotless. The deck looks over the pier where fishing boats and tour boat both moor or pass by. We stayed two nights and will be back. Great staff.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FlatlanderSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontFran, Owner at Anchor Pier Lodge, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thanks very much for the review! We often receive that "stumbled in" comment, as we've only been open since 2006, along with entries in our guest journals, like "A hidden gem", "tiny treasure on the Oregon Coast" and recently "Luxury camping in the middle of the boat harbor!". Whatever the comment, we delight in "exceeding expectations". My team of local folks and college kids are diligent about keeping everything sparkling clean for your arrival - I'll be happy to pass along your compliments to them! Looking forward to welcoming you back for your next stay at Anchor Pier Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Last month my partner and I drove down the Oregon coast for a vacation finding B & B's along the way. What a delightful surprise and stay we had at the Anchor Pier Lodge. Fran, the owner was kind enough to wait for us to arrive and offered the kindest hospitality. We stayed in the Captains Quarters and loved it. I happily could have spent several days there. The room was beautifully decorated with lovely apppointments, a reading nook and a great balcony overlooking the bay and Newport Bridge. Fran recommmended some great things to do and restaurants to visit. The next morning was a real treat taking the Maritime Discovery Cruise which she and her husband Don own sailing the bay and ocean. A great trip for students and others alike. We even got to see a whale. I would highly recommend this 6 room B & B. Its private, close to everything and a lovely location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shapirotours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontFran, Owner at Anchor Pier Lodge, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
We love meeting guests from all over the world - enjoyed chatting with you both, including your cruise "adventure" stories, before you headed south for home. We so enjoy the many fine restaurants and things to do in our little coastal town - great to hear that you enjoyed them, too!
We've been busy with our lodging and cruising since you were here - our gray whales that feed 1/2 mile off the beach through the summer and fall months are showing in good numbers on our cruises - close to shore whales and calm ocean - yes! Thanks very much for your kind thoughts and review. I'll make sure and pass them along to our team who love to deliver great guest memories. Keep traveling & having fun! Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I loved spending 4 days on the Oregon Coast, and Anchor Pier Lodge was my favorite over-night stop! The rooms are MUCH larger than any hotel or B&B, and have a wonderful uptown sophisticated seashore decor...perched over an amazing dock-side ambiance. Fun "bubble" tub in the room. Good local sight-seeing tips from nice staff. Rather than having the traditional, ghastly bagel/yogurt mess to contend with (because Anchor Pier just has rooms with coffee bars), we strolled across the street to the Whales Tail for some incredible poppy seed pancakes & REAL coffee. We watched the big boat Discovery take off for a cruise right from our deck and have promised ourselves a return trip that includes one of their ocean marine cruises.

Room Tip: Stay on the oceanside in four rooms. One room is street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 907girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontFran, Owner at Anchor Pier Lodge, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thanks very much for the review. Your point on how large the rooms are is well noted - it tends to be a nice surprise and causes a number of comments, like "the pictures on line don't do them justice". I'll make sure to pass your comments along to our team - always happy to hear that their efforts were helpful! We intentionally don't do breakfast for the very reason you noted - wonderful neighbors just a stroll across the street who deliver terrific food, breakfast through dinner.

Safe travels to you - keep having fun!
Fran M, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence or
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We headed for Newport for my Husbands Birthday. No particular plans, just wanted to get away. We have walked by Anchor Pier 100 times and even checked out a few rooms when they first had open house. Well, we decided to see if they had a room. It was Sunday so we werent too worried about finding a place to stay. We ended up staying in the Garden Room. It was beautiful. The room was clean and fresh. The view was amazing. The big picture window overlooking the bay was filled with the fishing boats and big NOAA boats with Christmas lights on them.We walked a few blocks to Mo's for a delicious crab dinner.
It was a beautiful, relaxing night. In the morning, we walked across the street to the Coffee House Cafe for a wonderful breakfast. It was just a relaxing get away. I would recommend staying in any of the fun, uniquely decorated rooms. The service desk was friendly and helpful. We will be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a theme to them. Each one we have seen has it's own character. They are clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Three333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontFran, Owner at Anchor Pier Lodge, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thanks very much for the kind words - we love to welcome guests to Anchor Pier Lodge! Winter is a magic time on the coast with big storms & hot coffee brewing, side by side - glad you got to enjoy some our favorite neighbors food and hospitality! And, of course - the main act on Newport's stage: our hardworking & colorful fishing fleet that are dominated by crabbers during the winter season. Happy travels & hope to see you, soon! Warm regards from all of us, Fran M, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.6 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
0.6 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,029 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
837 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
0.8 mi away
Embarcadero Resort Hotel
Embarcadero Resort Hotel
#13 of 24 in Newport
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Pier Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Pier Lodge

Property: Anchor Pier Lodge
Address: 345 SW Bay Blvd, Newport, OR 97365-4509
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our coastal themed suites welcome you with luxury linens and the most comfortable pillow top mattresses we could find! Enjoy fireplaces; spa tubs; spacious balconies; organic coffee & bathing products - all in a non-smoking, squeaky clean atmosphere of relaxation! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anchor Pier Hotel Newport
Anchor Pier Lodge Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing