We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fast service. Very busy place.”

Chowder Bowl at Nye Beach
Ranked #5 of 110 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Yakima, WA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fast service. Very busy place.”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We have visited this location several times and tend to get there right when the doors open. It gets very busy (probably because it's so good). The service is fast and friendly. I am convinced they have the best chowder on the Oregon Coast. We always get the fish and chips which is great! A trip to Newport is NOT complete unless you go to the Chowder Bowl!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    499
    325
    98
    38
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Reliable and fast”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We come to Newport a couple of times a year and always seem to eat once here. It's reliable in terms of quality. They've backed off from mostly fried options but still do a very serviceable fish and chips and their chowder, if not the best ever, is very satisfying. The service is friendly and very fast, important for family dining ... or to-go orders which we'll make as well. Nice Nye Beach location with outdoor seating an extra plus.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1337review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln City, Oregon
Level Contributor
71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very busy”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Food was expensive. Just average food, nothing great. We had fish and chips, and shrimp and chips. Nothing to brag about. Service was fine considering it was super busy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tina2240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good seafood choices”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Nice restaurant in the Nye Beach area of Newport. I think it used to be the older part of this seaside city, but it is being reshaped into an artsy area withnice cafés and eateries. Clam chowder was excellent, as were the fried oysters and clams.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GaryKupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Decent food, wonderful service.”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

I've been meaning to review this place for months. I kept reading about the wonderful waiter, James. The food was ok, but we would go back just for him. So friendly and helpful! We ordered the fish and chips and chowder. The chowder was a bit bland. The fish and chips portion was huge and is enough for two. The location is great. Close enough to the beach to take a walk down after dinner to burn off some of the carbs.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jkela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chowder Bowl at Nye Beach also viewed

 
Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 
Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Chowder Bowl at Nye Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing