We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food lacks flavor”

Chowder Bowl at Nye Beach
Ranked #5 of 111 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Food lacks flavor”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Went to The Chowder Bowl tonight with my husband. I had been here before and remembered a good eating experience but tonight's was disappointing. My husband had an open faced shrimp sandwich (not fried), and I had fish tacos. It was a very good portion of 2 large sized tacos (you get a choice of flour or cornmeal tortilla or 1 of each) and there was a good amount of fish on each one but the fish was not seasoned so it tasted very bland. I added lots of pepper and some salt (I usually do not add salt to any food I eat) but it did not help much. I do appreciate that they allowed me to substitute a bowl of chowder for a side salad.

My husband said his shrimp sandwich lacked flavor as well. It's a slow season for the area and the restaurant had just a few other people eating so it was not due to the kitchen being swamped with lots of orders. The service is pretty good. It would also be nice to have a few grilled seafood dishes on the menu as just about everything seafood is deep fried. They are known for their chowder but since I am not a chowder fan, I can't say how good it is.

I would return but probably only for lunch since they have more sandwich options. I know during peak season they have people waiting for tables.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClaireTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    505
    328
    101
    38
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scio, Oregon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Nice seating. Comfortable for our group of 6. Everyone enjoyed their food. Unique round french fries. Friendly service

Helpful?
Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Washington
Level Contributor
186 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good Lunch cafe”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The Chowder Bowl in Nye Beach is a smallish restaurant. We ate lunch and I had the grilled oysters and my wife had a fish sandwich. My oysters were lightly breaded and lightly cooked (the way I like them, not rubbery over done), and my wife’s fish sandwich was two pieces of battered cod with tartar sauce on a bun. Both were good but not spectacular. We later heard that the chowder is to die for, so next time we’ll try that.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Oregon, Oregon
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Stop!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My daughter chose this place for lunch, recalling a lunch we'd had there in the spring. I forgot how good the foods is. My fish in the fish and chips was exquisitely fresh. Her cup of chowder and Caesar salad were fresh and very tasty.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reeltravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointed for the first time!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I have sent a number of people to this restaurant with the comment that it has great clam chowder and excellent food. Unfortunately, I can continue to recommend the chowder but changes to their ways of preparing food leave me greatly disappointed. One of my favorites, their scallop and fries is long gone off the menu. I asked and was told that the scallops are too expensive now. OK, I was fine with that. I now often order the shrimp and chips, as I did today. Instead of the large hand breaded and fried shrimp I had gotten in the past, I got seven of the oval flat commercial breaded shrimp that you can get cheap at the grocery store. I asked and that is what they plan to serve from now on. Sorry, Chowder Bowl. I will no longer recommend anything but your chowder and chili.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pelicantreasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chowder Bowl at Nye Beach also viewed

 
Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Chowder Bowl at Nye Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing