We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for lunch!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chowder Bowl at Nye Beach

Chowder Bowl at Nye Beach
Ranked #5 of 108 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Ordered chowder and steamed clams. Both were very good. I would definitely go back. Good service and a nice cozy atmosphere on a chilly day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    487
    315
    93
    38
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Battle Ground, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best on the coast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We are so tired of hearing about the M place. The Chowder Bowl has the best on the coast, great service, and a great location. This is a must eat if your in Newport!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spokane, wa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“chowder!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We heard about the clam chowder from friends. So....about 4:30 p.m we decided to go try it out. Just order to cups of chowder and it was spectacular! The best I have had in a long time. Our server was great. Small, but comfortable atmosphere. We are anxious to go again and order a full meal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank quail4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickinson
Level Contributor
198 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very Cozy, Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We decided to try it based on a recommendation from our hotel and reviews. Very warm and cozy inside(we went in May, still chilly in the evenings!), very friendly servers. My husband and I shared the seafood platter, it was alot of food! The chowder was very good! The kids had kids meals, which they were pleased with. It was a busy, popular place. We would recommend it also and would go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kari G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dinner Out With Friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

A friend was visiting from Tennessee and wanted to meet for dinner. She tasked me with picking the location and restaurant, and I picked the Chowder Bowl at Nye Beach. I had not been here in over 5 years, but we all came away very pleased!

Our sever was outstanding! She was VERY patient with us as we were busy catching up rather than ordering our dinner. She checked back every 5-10 minutes but at no time did she pressure us into ordering. She made good recommendations regarding specials and the catch of the day and overall was just great!

Three in our party had the cod fish and chips with a baked potato and all said it was good. I had a bowl of their "Slumgolian Chowder", which is clam chowder with bay shrimp added, and it was outstanding! I also had the pan-fried oysters and they were good. Not great, but good------not overcooked as they often are in restaurants.

The atmosphere is beach casual, which is a good thing as they are located only 1/2 block from Nye Beach.

Overall, I would say the Chowder Bowl has earned it's number 4 TA ranking for Newport.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dengay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chowder Bowl at Nye Beach also viewed

 
Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 
Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Chowder Bowl at Nye Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing