We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fresh seafood”

Local Ocean Seafoods
Reserve with OpenTable
Local Ocean Seafoods is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 111 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Vancouver, WA
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good fresh seafood”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Small place and very popular so expect a wait. But well worth it! In addition to a retaurant, it also sells fresh seafood. Very good staff!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2thesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,444
    487
    130
    43
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“So Good We Went Back Again”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Local Ocean Seafoods is excellent in every way! The food on our first visit was so delicious and so beautifully prepared and presented that we went back for a second visit the following night! Our server (I think her name was Margie--she was from Australia) was extremely friendly, attentive, and knowledgeable about the menu. We were especially impressed with the artistic presentation of the meals. If you sit at the counter or at the tables by the kitchen, you can watch the preparation. The restaurant is on the harbor at Newport, and in the warm weather you can eat outside. If you're anywhere near Newport, don't miss this one!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Good Food. Fresh and tasty. I have gone there several times and always have good meal. It is a nice change from the deep fried stuff elsewhere. Not for cold weather as it is really best as an open air eatery.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Annette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Marina diner”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We loved this local spot for lunch! It seemed everyone else thought the same because there was a line to the door for lunch during the week. The short wait was worth it! We had fish tacos, fried oysters, and the rockfish sandwich was to die for!!! A definite must for lunch!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ally10home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Classic Ocean Front Seafood Gem!”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This restaurant is also a fish store by day, so that you get to see all of the fresh fish available to eat in a glass case in the lobby. The fish is wonderfully fresh, served with creative accents. For example, we started with local raw oysters which were served with a tangy pickled cucumber relish instead of the dreary red cocktail sauce found in most oyster bars. For the entree, I had a broiled Ling Sole filet served over a delicious sauce made with chantarele mushrooms, beets, white beans and homemade chorizo sausage that was excellent. My wife had a "Fishwife's Stew," a wonderful fish soup containing clams, mussels, crab, salmon, oysters, and shrimp in a tomato based seafood broth (that was impossibly big to finish in one sitting!). One of the chefs named Enrique (aka "Ray") came over to visit with us and took the time to explain about the "local food" orientation, commitment to freshness and creativity in the menu. The waitress suggested the perfect white wine for our dinner (an Oregon Gruner Veltliner) which was reasonably priced and deliciously dry. We finished with a delicious ice cream/cookies and nuts concoction that sent us staggering back to the car! Plenty of food, nice people and a wonderful night on the ocean!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lucapanevino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Local Ocean Seafoods also viewed

 
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Local Ocean Seafoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing