We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveler rating
128
56
15
7
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
128
56
15
7
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews antique room lighthouse room western room themed rooms duraflame log depoe bay and newport oregon coast otter rock view of the ocean separate bedroom deep cleaning private deck great view a king size bed low tide sound of the waves small kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 218 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2018

We went to Moolack for our anniversary, third visit, first under new ownership. It was very disappointing. First off, we booked under the old owners and did not have written confirmation and were charged at least $10 night above previous rates, but when we inquired were told we would have been charged much more by old owners(not accurate). We decided we would write that off since this was our favorite motel.
The only change we really noticed was that the motel wasn't clean anymore. On our first night I went to use the wineglasses provided in the room and realized they were covered in smudgey fingerprints and lip marks, up on further inspection they still contained someone else's wine. The next morning when I went to shower I found used soap and bath products in the shower. When I went to the office the cleaning staff was there and became confrontational about whether or not things were dirty. Our room was never properly cleaned again during the 4 days we stayed, even simple things like the bed being made or new towels hung on racks.
This was our favorite motel on the coast but we will never go back nor will we be recommending it anymore. It is an older property and that's okay but a dirty motel is never acceptable. End of an era...

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jodi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moolack Shores ... R, General Manager at Moolack Shores Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2018

Thank you for staying with us. We are sorry we failed to meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2018

Although the weather was as gorgeous as last year, we still enjoyed our stay in the Oregon Room. There was some remodeling going on in the room next door and so we decided to just get out of the room during those hours. It was too bad that we didn't get to stay in our room on those days, but we did get out and enjoy the bayfront and even drove up to Pacific City to spend time away from our room. Nice stormy days for a good part of the week, but one day was totally gorgeous. We are excited to see how the remodel of our room goes in the coming year. We are booked for the same week in 2019. Would recommend mats in for the bath tub.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caron5948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moolack Shores ... R, General Manager at Moolack Shores Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2018

Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you when the remodeling have been completed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2018 via mobile

Moolack Shores Motel is a little piece of heaven right here on earth! I stayed in the Camelot Room, with a fireplace at the foot of my bed, and a sliding glass door that leads to a deck that overlooks the private beach! A staircase from the motel leads down to the beach. There on the beach, with waves rolling in and the sea breeze, you'll experience true peace and serenity!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Vicki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moolack Shores ... R, General Manager at Moolack Shores Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2018

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

Quaint rooms, great views, friendly checkin! Rained hard while time we were there, but it was still nice! Easy access to the beach and on a clear day perfect for whale watching and beach combing. Our room was done in vintage style, and they provided a log for the fireplace. Perfect for our drizzling stay!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank DudesAdrift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moolack Shores ... R, General Manager at Moolack Shores Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2018

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate you taking the time to give feedback. We hope you will return to visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2018

Only stayed one night. It was nice to have a kitchen and full sized refrigerator, I'll remember that for the future as it's nice to have the option to cook, especially foods like freshly caught Dungeness crab.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Biergie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moolack Shores ... R, General Manager at Moolack Shores Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2018

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed the visit and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews