We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel, on beach for reasonable $'s”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moolack Shores Motel
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2009

Stayed in "The Camelot" and "Nautical Room" for two nights. The Camelot was very cozy with great views and fireplace. The Nautical was more private from the rest of the Motel, and with it's own great view and lot's of extra room. Staff was wonderful, helpful. The motel is a great deal at $115 + tax in the high season of June. Very pleased with our choice, would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rklecornu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 168 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2009

For a couple in search of a quiet weekend on the Oregon coast permeated by the sound of waves, it would be hard to beat two nights in one of the superbly decorated and cosy room in this little motel perched on a bluff on the edge of a Pacific beach.

The room interiors are unique and remarkable, as the motel's web site shows better than I can describe. Privacy is good since all the units face outward from a central courtyard. I suspect that only the rooms that face the ocean directly are really worthwhile because ours (The Nautical), on the side and under another suite, was subject to some road noise as well as noise from the unit above. From upstairs, the television, footsteps, and plumbing were audible. We were disappointed to have the shower lever fail to work and the bathroom door not close properly.

Moreover, the bathroom in this unit was far too small (whereas in The Whaler room it was palatial). The angled view of the ocean and the sound of waves and wind compensated somewhat.

Access to the beach is via a well-maintained private stairway. In fact, all the decks and stairs appeared to be new. Parking is right outside the units in a lot sheltered by the surrounding building. Reception was indifferent by a young woman who also could not offer much advice about dining in the area. Overall, an ocean front room makes this aging but well-maintained and located motel worthwhile.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NW_Raven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2009

I stayed here from 2/10/9 thru 2/13/09 and it was wonderful. They have a no smoking and pets policy for inside the rooms. I did see the man next door having a beer and a smoke but it was outside on the deck. I did not find it to be be like the person who did the review on Feb 4th. The couple who manages it were very nice and the staff was pleasant and never talked bad about anyone. This is my second time here and I will come again. I found it very clean and comfortable. As far as the beer and smoking I've seen that type of behavior at 5 star resorts! I stayed in the Lighthouse room #3.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdelam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2009

If you love cigarette smoke--this is the place for you. And if you want to listen to the people in the nxt room throw empty beer bottles against the deck all evening--and have managers that smell of alcohol and bad-mouth the owners, staff that gossip about the managers and make bad remarks about guests--this is your place.

Moolack Shores used to be a really cool, peaceful place--where guests and management were respectful and nice. It is now yahoo heaven. We ended up feeling nervous about encountering the manageress because she was nice sometimes and then really snotty and nasty--and hinting for presents/gratuities/alcohol. Very uncomfortable.

It is a real shame--we'll never go back--too much like being on the Jerry Springer show. Such a waste--but maybe they will get new management???

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
3  Thank ghengis777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2008

I really like this motel because it's very private and each room has it's own theme. I never had a bad experience with this motel. I would highly recommend to book this motel in advance because it gets booked very fast even during October when it's really chilly here in Oregon. The place is very clean. Some of the rooms do have a patio. The staffs here are very friendly. A friendly reminder is that the parking lot is kind of small and your car is parked on pebbles/gravel. This is a motel I definitely recommend for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuVdining2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

This was our first time to Moolack Shores and have already booked reservations for next year. Our room was clean, cozy, the staff was very, very friendly. We encountered no problems, no mold, no dust, just a clean motel room with an awesome view. If you're looking for 5 stars, this isn't your hotel. We've stayed in 5 star hotels and all we got was a huge hotel bill and yes granite, marble and yes even noisy neighbors, but we'd rather have cozy and peaceful! If you're looking for quiet, coziness, the sound of the ocean and a peaceful time with your significant other, then you've found the right place. Both nights we were there, the place was filled up and you would never have known it. It was that quiet. We will be going back for as long as we are able to. Can't beat the price or the view.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RandA99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2008

We saw this great little place on Trip Advisor and changed our reservation from a "larger"property to here. Only the Antique room was available but that was ok! When you drive up there is not alot of "outside" charm from the FRONT but do not fear! Our room was ready-clean and great-small but cozy.
Had a wood stove- they provide logs and we were able to stock small fridge with drinks and goodies and hide out and have a cozy fire!
There are not alot of hotels in Newport with direct beach access that are this uncrowded and quiet! Down the stairs from the hotel to a very long stretch of quiet unoccupied beach-GREAT!
The manager-I met only the gentleman was so sweet and friendly! As they were cleaning the rooms the next morning he let me peek into each room to see the different "themes" of the room- they have western-camelot-hawaii-whaler- all different in each room!
I would and I will stay here again-there are journals in each room and many aim to stay in every room for the experience!
I think you wil love this place. It is a 3 mile drive in to newport for shopping, dining etc so thats not bad! Check it out!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IdahoKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
4.6 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,077 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
4.1 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,899 reviews
4.1 mi away
Waves of Newport
Waves of Newport
#16 of 24 in Newport
213 reviews
1.9 mi away
Agate Beach Motel
Agate Beach Motel
#1 of 24 in Newport
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moolack Shores Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moolack Shores Motel

Address: 8835 N Coast Hwy, Newport, OR 97365-9514
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#7 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $70 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moolack Shores Motel is your unique ocean-front retreat on the central Oregon coast. Our themed rooms feature stunning ocean views and there is easy beach access. Most rooms have fireplaces and either a kitchenette or full kitchen. We offer clean, comfortable rooms and will go out of our way to make your stay a very special one! Our location on the north end of Newport is just a 5 minute drive to town and about 20 minutes from Lincoln City. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moolack Shores Hotel Newport
Moolack Shores Motel Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing