We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moolack Shores Motel
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

My wife and I love this place because it's not pretentious. It's very down to earth with character and different themes for each unit. (The housekeeping staff could pay more attention to detail - like dusting shelves, and the blinds). Overall, it's quaint and quirky. One man's treasure is another man's junk - so not everyone's cup of tea - certainly doesn't feel like a chain of motels or hotels. So if that's what you like, stay at one of those.
We like it because it's quiet, (even though it's right off Hwy 101, it's never been an issue at least in our experience of staying there the last 8 years.)
The units at Moolack feel like you're staying in a little beach cabin, complete with real fireplace (they provide one Duraflame log per evening - so bring some extra if you like to have a fire during the day). Some units (higher priced) have a full kitchen, others have only a microwave and small fridge - so book according to your needs.
Also...down the steps to the lovely open beach, you can have a beach fire if the tide is out - just find some drift wood, or buy some at the Safeway/Albertsons in Newport a few miles away.
They also have a communal BBQ - just bring your own coals, cook away, and enjoy!

We have always found the owners (husband and wife) to be courteous, reliable, and accommodating. They're pretty down to earth, and I hope they have Moolack Shores for years to come!

Room Tip: Units #1 (Aviator Room) and Unit #2 (Nostalgia Room) Unit 3 (Lighthouse Room) have side/partial vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    41
    8
    3
    8
See reviews for
23
100
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Rooms are very theme heavy and themes vary by room. Rooms are extensively fitted out with nostalgia and memorabilia appropriate for that room's theme. The room I stayed in had a small sitting area with a fireplace (log provided) that had an indirect view of the beach. Rooms are spotless and show careful attention to detail but are decidedly older in character. Service is very friendly and rates are good for the area. Located directly on the beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamiltonbergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Excellent time, very quiet and relaxing just what we needed. Staff was extremely helpful 5 stars. We got the Lighthouse room with excellent views of the ocean and Yaquina Head Lighthouse. Not far from Newport which on this trip discovered Nye Beach area and of course we had to go to our favorite Historic Bayfront. Every room is themed so will be interesting on our next trip which room we get!

Room Tip: Look at the web site to check the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

My husband and I were excited to stay at Moolack Shores, and we were not disappointed! We stayed in the light house themed room. What a beautiful room, with a view of a light house and of course the beautiful pacific!!! The room was very cozy and decorated with light house decor from puzzle pictures, to actual pictures, and there was even an embroidered light house in one of the rooms. Too many more decorations to mention, lets just say you'll know when you're in the light house room :) We stayed two nights and each night we had one of our kids and their significant other stay with us, and in the making were many wonderful and unforgettable memories!!! We had a blast. A few very important things to us I have to add 1. We found Moolack Shores to be VERY quiet and peaceful! 2. I'm pretty picky when it comes to cleanliness, and I found that our room was very clean. Overall our stay was very relaxing and we look forward to going back soon! I have to mention Frank and his wife were absolutely the best :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed last summer (late review, I know...) in the Hawaiian suite. The balcony overlooking the ocean was beautiful. Having windows on both walls gave the unit a very open feel. It was just far enough from town to be quiet yet still convenient. I will stay again next time I am on the Oregon coast.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BigKahunaKona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

My wife and I returned to Moolack Shores after being away nearly 40 years. This was one of the first hotels we stayed at when we moved to the Pacific Northwest. We fondly remembered the visit. We were not disappointed upon our return. Each of the rooms has a unique theme. We stayed in the Hunting Lodge room. It was equipped with all you would need and the view of the ocean was beautiful. The hotel is well located to explore the central portion of the Oregon coast. It will not be 40 years before our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greekmermaid13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

All of the rooms are decorated on a theme and the theme includes far more than just decor. Books, paraphernalia, as well as signs, plaques, carvings, etc are in each room to add an in depth experience. Our family stayed in the Nautical Room and our 21 year old son found a book on The Dreadnaughts that he couldn't put down. The room was modeled to look like a ship's cabin with galley, head, even twin beds set in the wall below portholes which actually opened (there was also a king sized bed in the room). Naval books, an actual ship's log and newspaper clippings in a shadow box, plaques mounted to the wall, ship signs, etc, all added to the effect. There were enough beds for 4 in the room although there weren't quite enough dishes in the "galley" to cover all four of us, nor were there enough chairs at the dining table. This was the most private room in the complex with a deck set below the main deck and facing north towards Otter Rock and Cape Foulweather, although, we did hear footsteps from room above us. Even though we only had a range top and microwave and small refrigerator and limited space, most of the family wants to return only to this room since they had such an awesome experience. Our son and 18 year old daughter each had their own bunk and porthole with personal lamp light and both want to sleep at night with porthole open to listen to the surf. The room, especially around the edges of the bathroom floor could have been cleaner and there was a musty smell in the bathroom but everywhere else was clean enough. This is an older building but the owners have managed to keep things fairly nice. We were able to view the Hunting Room as well (somewhat shared deck with fence dividers separating each section of deck in front of the individual rooms) and it was decorated to the extreme (elk head mounted on the wall as well as carvings, fishing poles, etc to look like a hunting lodge) just as the Nautical Room was plus with more space (separate bedroom) and a full kitchen. Any room in this motel would be an unforgettable experience that one would want to return to. The location is excellent with a semi-private beach (Moolack Beach access is just to the north but the public tends to stay on that side of things.) and a terrific view of Yaquina Head lighthouse and headland. We were able to walk south down the beach most of the way to that headland and saw various rock formations that would have tide pools at low tide. This is definitely a place that we will return to and if I can convince the rest of the family, we'll be able to try some of the other rooms.

Room Tip: Any is good, stay in a room that would have the theme you'd like but reserve ahead as these room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PullmanCougar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
3.0 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
4.6 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,029 reviews
4.1 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
4.9 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,761 reviews
1.9 mi away
Agate Beach Motel
Agate Beach Motel
#1 of 24 in Newport
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moolack Shores Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moolack Shores Motel

Property: Moolack Shores Motel
Address: 8835 N Coast Hwy, Newport, OR 97365-9514
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
#7 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moolack Shores Motel is your unique ocean-front retreat on the central Oregon coast. Our themed rooms feature stunning ocean views and there is easy beach access. Most rooms have fireplaces and either a kitchenette or full kitchen. We offer clean, comfortable rooms and will go out of our way to make your stay a very special one! Our location on the north end of Newport is just a 5 minute drive to town and about 20 minutes from Lincoln City. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moolack Shores Hotel Newport
Moolack Shores Motel Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing