We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and fun!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moolack Shores Motel
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Pendleton, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful and fun!!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I booked the room about a month in advance, which worked great for us; we got the room of our choice, which was the Hawaiian room. We (my boyfriend and I) stayed here in mid-March, around St. Patrick's Day, I believe.
We arrived there mid day and parked in the empty parking lot, which was loose gravel, so I had to give it a little gas when we backed out. We went inside the office area, a very small space on our side of the counter; the other people wanting to check in had to wait outside. Yvette was the name of the woman who greeted us. She was very friendly, as she checked us in and gave us a verbal tour of the place, explaining how to get down to the beach and where our room was, in addition to the guest wash room and what have ya.
We went to our room which was on the northern corner of the motel, and it was lovely. Everything was decorated wonderfully and had a very homey feeling. It wasn't matching and flawless like many hotels. Instead, it was much more like staying in someone's home. A clean home, mind you. As we went around the corner to where the bed was, I was blown away by the view. I had seen the pictures and done the little virtual tour on their website, but I didn't think we would be THAT close to the water. Simply amazing!
We stayed for two nights and both were very comfortable. The sink in the kitchen had a hard time draining, but we didn't use it much anyway. Rather than bothering them in the night, I just left a note for them to take care of it when they cleaned the room while we were out and about.
The room was quiet, we didn't hear any neighbors but that was probably because I had the door open 90% of the time. Hearing the ocean from my bed was wonderful!
The ONLY thing I didn't like about the place was that when cars went down the street at night, their lights shone through the window, and reflected off of the window facing the ocean, making it look as though there were lights coming from the water. It caught my eye several times, so finally I closed the curtain. The parking lot was very crowded towards the end of the evening, so watch your doors!
Overall, the staff was friendly, the room was homey and clean to my standards, and the view was phenomenal! I am going to be staying here again this October in the Nautical room. It doesn't face the ocean, which is a bummer, but the theme is awesome.

Room Tip: Keep in mind that there is no breakfast served, but several of the rooms are suites or mini suites a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    41
    8
    3
    8
See reviews for
22
99
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
620 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

You need to get a reservation well in advance---they have a lot of regulars that are return clients. You really have to stay in one of their rooms to appreciate the different themes and it is easy to use their stairs to get to the beach and the tide pools. Very clean and comfortable with owners that are great hosts.

Room Tip: Look at their theme rooms on their website to decide which room will give you the most pleasure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ballhawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Themed rooms. Website has pics of them, but they're better than pictured. 3 miles north of Newport, this particular stretch of beach is only accessible from a few places, so you have the beach pretty much to yourself. The views from the rooms are awesome. Very relaxing place to stay, great owners, completely gracious and a great deal. Destination stay, cheaper places in town.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firstlish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
183 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Just got back from a two night stay in the Antique Room and I liked this place very much. It does not allow pets and that is a big plus for me as we usually travel to the Coast with our dogs and on that rare occasion when we do not take them a place that clearly reflects a lack of pet habitation is much appreciated. The hotel is also not really appropriate for young children, more of a quiet adult couples atmosphere, another plus for an old curmudgeon like me!

As previous posters have noted, the enviornment is not sterile; but if you're looking for a reasonably priced and clean place in a great location with genuinely friendly onsite owner/managers, then this place is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Spring for an oceanfront room. It really is as close to the beach as you can get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blacklab1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

If I were submitting this review based on location, I would give it an excellent; if based only on quality and cleanliness of the rooms, I would rate it poor. My husband and I enjoy staying in places which allow us to do our own cooking which our unit had and that is a plus. We also do not mind staying in places which don't have the latest and greatest in modern improvements and upgrades. The problem with our room at Moolack was it needed a really good cleaning and some fresh paint. The "stuff" hanging from the ceilings and walls had cobwebs and was covered in dust, the bathroom fixtures had seen better days and the furniture needed a good vacuuming at the very least. We stayed in the Oregon unit, I do not know what condition the other units may be in. The prices were very reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RitaMae541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This visit, the place was definitely in need of a paint job. It's lookkng a bit on the run down side. I was in the Nautical room. If you are over 5'10", don't stay in that room. You'll never make it down the stairs without bonking your head....three times. The view from the room is nice, but the rooms that actually face the beach are much nicer. If you are looking for a place that is as sterile as a hospital....this is not the place for you. At the Moolack you're basically staying in a furnished apartment. Any breakfast is one that you make. Ditto with Lunch and Dinner. That was just fine by me! The place is very quiet (except for the upstairs toilet). The beach access is great. Don't bring kids to this place...it's more of an adult get-away. Everytime I've been there the rooms were clean. You're only 7 minutes from Newport. In the fuiture, I'll avoid Room #8. And If I'm in the room above it, I'll think I'm sorry everytime I flush the toilet. The Oregon room is TOPS!

Room Tip: The Oregon room is Tops!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimSrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My daughter and I stayed in the Antique Room for a two nights. The room was very comfortable and cozy. The owners have obviously put a lot of time and thought into decorating each room.
The room was small but had everything we needed. Two comfortable chairs for reading, a big tv (though we never turned it on) an electric fireplace, a coffee maker with nice mugs, refrigerator, and microwave.
There was deck overlooking the ocean right outside the back door which was perfect for drinking coffee in the morning and sipping a glass of wine in the evening. There were decks on either side of us with only the railing separating them. There were occasionally other people on their respective decks, we were fine with that as everyone was kind and respectful. If you want exclusive privacy it might not be for you.
The access to the beach was great.
We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank N. G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
3.0 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
4.6 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
4.1 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
4.8 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moolack Shores Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moolack Shores Motel

Property: Moolack Shores Motel
Address: 8835 N Coast Hwy, Newport, OR 97365-9514
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newport
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#7 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moolack Shores Motel is your unique ocean-front retreat on the central Oregon coast. Our themed rooms feature stunning ocean views and there is easy beach access. Most rooms have fireplaces and either a kitchenette or full kitchen. We offer clean, comfortable rooms and will go out of our way to make your stay a very special one! Our location on the north end of Newport is just a 5 minute drive to town and about 20 minutes from Lincoln City. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moolack Shores Hotel Newport
Moolack Shores Motel Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing