We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very best, most relaxing home away from home”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moolack Shores Motel
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Our stay at Moolack Shores Motel was so peaceful. The hosts are very welcoming and made our stay so comfortable. The beach is nice and private between Otter Rock and Nye Beach. Easy access right off Highway 101 in a quiet setting. Private access to the beach.

Room Tip: They have theme rooms and our most favorite room now is the Whaler. We have stayed in the Antique r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BonibD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 169 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

Our week stay at Moolack Shores was just as wonderful as the past 26 times we have stayed there. We were greeted by Frank, the Manager and our room was ready and waiting for us. Frank and his wife always go out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The view from our room is what makes it so special. Love this place and will go back again next year!!!

Room Tip: The suites are the best to stay in. They have a full kitchen and are the largest of the rooms. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank caron5948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

this is a perfect out of the way place with not out of the way lacation ,while located on hwy 101 just mile or so north of Newport OR ,, it has a view better than non of the pacific ocean ,, each room has its own balcony, with a perfect access the beach below,, just a few feet away ,,,, restaraunts and shopping less than 10 minutes drive ,,, a perfect weekend get away for sure ,,, highly recommended

Room Tip: all the westward rooms have the best view of the beach and ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We arrived at the motel just in time to see the sunset from our room balcony; Then down a short set of steps to the awaiting sandy beach. We stayed in the antique room. Each room has a unique decor. We did not hear any road noise. Wine glasses were provided for the wine we purchased in Wasington. No breakfast is served. Bed was comfortable Over all a very pleasant stay. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Remember that no breakfast is served.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgeMonroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

I had researched this area and this motel before deciding to make a reservation. I liked that it was very small and right on the ocean, but was a bit uncomfortable with the theme rooms. I chose the Whaling Room which does not have a balcony, but makes up for that by having a fabulous view up the beach, instead of straight out to sea. The room was quaint, comfy, had some nice details like binoculars. The owner was more than pleasant and accommodating. I was only able to stay one night, but I could see cozying up next the fire for some weeks to come. I had a smile on my face the entire time! Now this place is certainly not new, nor fancy, but it's homey in a way not often found in older motels. Convenient to Newport. It's consistently booked, so I'm not the only one who thinks Moolack Shores is special - don't miss it unless you prefer big high-end chain hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalypsoReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband & I stayed for 2 very relaxing nights in September. Left 1 of the windows open at night-absolutely wonderful being lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves!. We had an ocean view room with a balcony and King size bed that was clean & comfortable. Nice to have a kitchenette so we could eat some of our meals in; didn't want to miss a moment enjoying the ocean. Would go back there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony facing the ocean worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5uwalum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Great location, great themed rooms and great value. We stayed in the nostalgia room which was very unique! We had a fireplace and a view of the ocean. I'd definitely stay here again. The only downside I can think of is its close to the road.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bjm35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
4.6 mi away
Elizabeth Oceanfront Suites
4.1 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
897 reviews
5 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
1.9 mi away
Agate Beach Motel
Agate Beach Motel
#1 of 24 in Newport
407 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Whaler
The Whaler
#6 of 24 in Newport
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moolack Shores Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moolack Shores Motel

Address: 8835 N Coast Hwy, Newport, OR 97365-9514
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
#7 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $70 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moolack Shores Motel is your unique ocean-front retreat on the central Oregon coast. Our themed rooms feature stunning ocean views and there is easy beach access. Most rooms have fireplaces and either a kitchenette or full kitchen. We offer clean, comfortable rooms and will go out of our way to make your stay a very special one! Our location on the north end of Newport is just a 5 minute drive to town and about 20 minutes from Lincoln City. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moolack Shores Hotel Newport
Moolack Shores Motel Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing