We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only attraction is the dive show”

Oregon Undersea Gardens
Ranked #36 of 47 things to do in Newport
Attraction details
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The only attraction is the dive show”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The dive show, the places only real attraction worth a person's time, was more for kids than it was educational. The announcer mumbled into the microphone or was holding it too close to his mouth and thus made it hard to clearly understand what he was saying. The diver handled the animals in a way that seemed almost harmful and was throwing crabs, star fish and other fish around like toys and props. Ultimately a disappointing spectacle and not worth the $$

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    19
    63
    64
    69
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Murky view, tacky gift shop”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Skip the "undersea" tour, just like looking at giant fish tank that hasn't been cleaned in awhile. Free to get in the gift shop upper part but just has the usual touristy items.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank laurenkb73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, Manager at Oregon Undersea Gardens, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Hi, I am the new General Manager of Undersea Gardens (Mariner Enterprises) in Newport, Oregon. I have been reading reviews on trip adviser and am currently trying to respond and get feedback if you care to take the time. Firstly, by way of explanation. Most modern Aquariums are enclosed and controlled so water can be kept clean, etc. Our facility is unique in that bay water (filtered) works in and out so we can provide a true environmental experience of what it is like off the Oregon Coast and in our bay. At times the water is murky in the bay, hence...you get the picture. Other than that this is not meant to compete with the likes of Oregon Coast Aquarium but is simply a nostalgic trip into our past when facilities such as these were top of the line. They aren't any longer and should not be approached the same way. Anyway, any feedback that could have made this the experience you were looking for would be appreciated. My new job is to strive to get better...scores of 1 make it hard. Very sorry for your experience with us. Thank you, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lame”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was so awful. I didn't want the "package" that included Ripleys and the Wax Museum that the rest of the family saw, so I paid a senior fare for this single experience. For the time it took to complete this adventure, it came to one dollar per minute. Just some fish and crabs in a small aquarium with mock ruins underwater. The same size as the gift shop upstairs. No bathroom. For that money, I'd have liked a restroom.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedro Woolley, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gross”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I remember going here as a kid and loving it but now over 20 years later nothing has been updated. The smell of the place is disgusting, wet, old carpet. There is nothing exciting or new to see that you can't see at any other aquarium in the pacific nw. The only reason we went was because if you buy Ripley's tickets and Wax Works tickets you get the aquarium ticket free.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank sgalbreath27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, Manager at Oregon Undersea Gardens, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Hi, I am the new General Manager of Undersea Gardens (Mariner Enterprises) in Newport, Oregon. I have been reading reviews on trip adviser and am currently trying to respond and get feedback if you care to take the time. Firstly, by way of explanation. Most modern Aquariums are enclosed and controlled so water can be kept clean, etc. Our facility is unique in that bay water (filtered) works in and out so we can provide a true environmental experience of what it is like off the Oregon Coast and in our bay. At times the water is murky in the bay, hence...you get the picture. Other than that this is not meant to compete with the likes of Oregon Coast Aquarium but is simply a nostalgic trip into our past when facilities such as these were top of the line. They aren't any longer and should not be approached the same way. Anyway, any feedback that could have made this the experience you were looking for would be appreciated. My new job is to strive to get better...scores of 1 make it hard. Very sorry for your experience with us. Thank you, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time or $”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

A complete disaster. Dark, dank interior that smelled like a wet dog. You can see a better designed sea exhibit if you visit the fish tanks at Wal-mart. Was seriously tempted to ask for a refund.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank BLV430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oregon Undersea Gardens also viewed

Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Oregon Undersea Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing