We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oregon Undersea Gardens

Oregon Undersea Gardens
Ranked #39 of 47 things to do in Newport
Attraction details
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nothing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

When I went, this just had views of the water under the pier. It was a major disappointment, since I expected some of the scenes that were depicted on the billboards.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    19
    58
    64
    68
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Awesome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Loved the educational info. Diver and narrator were great. Since it is under the sea, it seems a little musty and aged. Loved what we saw though. There was also a touching pool for small sea creatures. Nice gift shop. Reasonably priced. Also bought the Mariner Square pass to all 3 attractions.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank saylesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baker City, Oregon
Level Contributor
242 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Worst sham on the coast”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Skip this no matter what the kids beg you to do! They preach evolution while the show lasts about 15 mins. I watched paint dry and had more fun and its free. This place is outdated, dirty, expensive and BORING!
The staff is very friendly but it all ends there.
AVOID

Helpful?
3 Thank Ratfink2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, Manager at Oregon Undersea Gardens, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Hi, I am the new General Manager of Undersea Gardens (Mariner Enterprises) in Newport, Oregon. I have been reading reviews on trip adviser and am currently trying to respond and get feedback if you care to take the time. Firstly, by way of explanation. Most modern Aquariums are enclosed and controlled so water can be kept clean, etc. Our facility is unique in that bay water (filtered) works in and out so we can provide a true environmental experience of what it is like off the Oregon Coast and in our bay. At times the water is murky in the bay, hence...you get the picture. Other than that this is not meant to compete with the likes of Oregon Coast Aquarium but is simply a nostalgic trip into our past when facilities such as these were top of the line. They aren't any longer and should not be approached the same way. Anyway, any feedback that could have made this the experience you were looking for would be appreciated. My new job is to strive to get better...scores of 1 make it hard. Very sorry for your experience with us. Thank you, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Poor show”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We were the only ones in the audience. It was a poor show. Couldn't see well as the water was murky. All in all, was a tourist trap. My grandson was bored so we didn't stay long. More gift shop than undersea garden.

Helpful?
2 Thank Annette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOUNT HOOD PARKDALE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“over priced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place is a waste of your money! Got to the OSU marine science center instead. Small, dark, and boring!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TAMMY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oregon Undersea Gardens also viewed

 
Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Oregon Undersea Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing