We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting rainy day diversion but not worth the cost” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oregon Undersea Gardens

Oregon Undersea Gardens
Ranked #39 of 47 things to do in Newport
Attraction details
Bothell
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Interesting rainy day diversion but not worth the cost”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I think this attraction is $11 for adults. I would say that it is definitely not worth that. If you felt that the Ripley's and Wax Works offered enough value on your 3 attraction pass, then it might be worthwhile to head across the street to see this too. Otherwise, it is definitely not worth the individual admission to do.

Once you maneuver your way through the gift shop and down the steep stairs you will be in a giant aquarium of protected sea life. Most are Oregon species: sturgeon, cabezon, lingcod, black cod, crab, octopus, and other fish life. About once an hour a diver interacts with the animals and there is a 'show' of sorts with a prerecorded voice and music. If you catch the show it is worth sitting down to enjoy. Otherwise you might be better off to skip this and just head to the docks to watch the sea lions for free.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    19
    58
    64
    68
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
272 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Not what I had expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We bought the 3 attraction package which also included the Wax Museum and Ripley's Believe It or Not, and kids under 12 are little cheaper. We received a book for Ripley's and the Undersea Garden.

Basically, it's an in-ground observation area around a gigantic aquarium. Upon entering the building, you see the gift shop. Take the stairs down and you will see a 360 aquarium of various fishes, crabs, eels, and other sea life. A diver enters for pool, and shows the audience the sea life which is coordinated to the audio presentation. If not for the "show", we would have been done in 5-10 minutes.

It's something to do, but not really worth the price.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank iceman68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainier, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Way smaller than expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

It's incredibly dark and dingy under the ship where the viewing area is. It's more like a small room with glass on all the sides, and some fish enclosed within the small walls on the other side of the glass. It disappointed my expectations. The touch tank is incredibly small. Only thing that made it a little worth our while was there was a show that the diver actually got into the tank and interacted with everybody gathered on the 3 rows of bleachers. But that lasted about 10 minutes, if that.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 957Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not worth individual admission”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012


the bundle admission made it worth while. Not enough variation of species of animals and glass and water was dirty

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JimC565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wish I could give Negative stars”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

The only good thing about this place is the gift shop. We only came here because it was the best price option to purchase tickets for our family for a 3 pack with Ripley's and the wax museum (which are awesome by the way for families). Down in the under sea museum there were just a bunch of basic fish and crabs in a very dark surround tank. There is a tiny touch tank, but we saw way better sea life down at the tide pools in Yachates and Otter Crest. We will never go again! You get more excitement by far watching the Sea Lions right outside their doors. My kids 5,8 &9 could here the seal ions from inside the gardens and wanted to go back outside. They are free. Save your money and go to the REAL Aquarium, it is way worth it.

Helpful?
Thank RachelleLay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oregon Undersea Gardens also viewed

 
Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Oregon Undersea Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing