We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mo's Annex

Mo's Annex
Ranked #25 of 109 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
West Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pretty OK”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Overall the food was just that, "Pretty OK".... The view was very nice. I am a huge fan of chowder in a bread bowl but this was just ok. No frills, nothing special. Kind of expected a bit more being right on the coast, but not so much.
Would come back again, but would order something different.

Helpful?
Thank Marcus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    76
    36
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorris, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“poor service”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We did not realize that the restaurant closed at 7 p.m., we went in at approximately 6:20 and there was still a line.
At first we were waited on promptly once we got a table (there was 9 of us so it took a few minutes). We placed our order at about 6:40 but we didn't receive it until 7:30 p.m. Our waitress seemed to be more interested in wiping a back counter and talking to someone who was cooking. We could see her. The coffee pot was turned off at 7:00 since they closed then and so the coffee when refilled was cold.
One of the kids ordered a shrimp skewer. And while yes it was for a child, it came with one skewer, a bag of potato chips, and some shredded lettuce on the plate. Really?? Needless to say it did not fill up my 7 year old grandson. Very frustrating.
We have eaten here before and it was good, although we usually eat at the Mo's in Lincoln City.
I don't think I will be able to get my family there again

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Disappointed....”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Our chowder was mediocre at best
Tasted like it had been sitting on a warmer with no attention for way too long. Thick and pasty with no real flavor to speak of. We also had oyster stew. No other way to put it; it sucked. Oysters so overcoked and no flavor what so ever. Hard for me to belive the chef, no line cook, could taste this and let a server deliver it to a table. The icing on the cake was the nasty smell of dead fish that streamed in from the open window in the dining room. Party fishing and crab boats dock below the restaurant. It might be on the water, but you can do better. Go anywhere else.

Helpful?
Thank Perry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“It's our Mo's of choice in Newport”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We love the Annex. We are always bewildered as to why the "original" Mo's across the street is always so packed. It has no view, no atmosphere and I must be missing something.

This Mo's gets busy, sure. But we are always seated fairly quickly and most tables have a wonderful view of the bay. The service is good, though on this visit it took a VERY long time to get even our salads. Others who came in after us got their salads before we did (different server), so I attribute this to a temporary server problem.

The food, as always, was wonderful. Both the shrimp and fish were grilled to perfection and the serving size was good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Tiger_ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Depoe Bay, Oregon
Level Contributor
215 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Pretty good, but 'Taft' restaurant hard to beat.”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Been here several times. Portions are smaller than in Taft. I get the cod sandwich here because they don't have a deep fryer at this location....therefore I can't get fish n' chips. The cod filet on the sandwich is equivalent to 'Skippers' portions. Other Mo's outlets consistently beat the annex. The chowder was great as usual though.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mo's Annex also viewed

Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Mo's Annex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing