We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good chowder”
Review of Mo's Annex

Mo's Annex
Ranked #23 of 112 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Munich
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good chowder”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Nice place for a meal. The Chowder was good and so was the service. it wasn't the best chowder we had on our trip (that was probably Ivar's in WA), but definitely in the top 3. Be sure to walk across the street and check out the sea lions. Just follow the sounds...and your nose :-)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ErinSings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    80
    35
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LEBANON
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice View and Down Home Cooking”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Of course Mo's is known for the clam chowder. My wife says it is good. I on the other hand choose other things on the menu. This last visit I had a very good grilled cheese sandwich. The view is very nice. It is a really nice place to go on a rainy day.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RodNLebanon_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yulee, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Any trip to the Coast deserves a trip to Mo's”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Kind of surprised by the reviews of others. Been going there for years and never been disappointed with their food or service.

Located in Newport Bay front area, this is the place to get the best clam chowder on the coast. Every time I fly back west to visit family, this place is on my list of things to see/do. Also, recommend you order the peanut butter pie. It's amazing!

The annex is small so make sure you take an early lunch or dinner. And if you get there early enough, try to get a table overlooking the bay. It's fun to watch the fishermen come in with their catches in the docks below the restaurant. Adds to the uniqueness of this place.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bonneville, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Poor Excuse for food”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Clam chowder that tastes like burnt flour and fish over cooked. There are so many good places for good food on the Oregon Beaches, so don`t waste your money or your taste buds at Mo`s.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank marijd406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Clammy Clam Chowder”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The chowder is good. The dinner salad is good. A bit different that you'd expect. No lettuce, but shredded cabbage, creamy dressing, and topped with a pile of small local bay shrimp. How do they peel the shrimp, I wonder? There were 2 children at the table next to us who ordered hot dogs.They came with a toy shark on top of the dog. I thought that was a nice treat for the kids. I'd go back. Definitely.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mo's Annex also viewed

 
Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Mo's Annex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing