We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saw a grey whale!”

Devils Punchbowl State Natural Area
Ranked #4 of 50 things to do in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Saw a grey whale!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Amazing view! Saw a grey whale immediately ! It was so cool! Beautiful scenery! Great views- first stop we made on our trip & I'm so glad we did . Plus it's free!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TeamKrason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    251
    78
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Suquamish, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Scenery was terrific,park was clean, best time to go I think would be high tide. We were there during low tide,but still a must see. place is a little difficult to get to if your not paying attention to the signs.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“surfer's delight”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Devil's punch bowl, when the tide is out, is extrodinary. Lots of nooks and crannies to explore. If you are into surfing this is the place and they even have a wash station up top so you can rinse off all of the sand you will be covered in from playing at the beach!
Watch out for little sand beetles in the water, they bite!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jevac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Go at low-tide”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was a little tricky for us to find. Park at the lot by the Devil's Punch Bowl sign, then walk down the street, past the yellow Dead End sign. You'll see a tail on the left going down that will take you to a beach, which you can get to the bowl by going all the way to the left. We went when the tide was coming back in, which I do not recommend, but it was really cool in there!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Not Much There”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We heard a lot about the Devil's Punch Bowl and to only go at high tide. We were there at high tide and it was disappointing. We found it was a waste of time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mbabane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devils Punchbowl State Natural Area also viewed

 
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Devils Punchbowl State Natural Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing