We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique”

Devils Punchbowl State Natural Area
Ranked #6 of 48 things to do in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Homedale, Idaho, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unique”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is an incredible view... you don't get to walk down too it. You observe from the top. It use to be a cave and the top fell in... absolutely amazing to look at. There is a walk way that takes you around for a view of the ocean to the south that you see surfers. Also tables to have a nice lunch with awesome view. Great Wine shop there too !

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teresa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    241
    75
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boise, ID
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best tidepools, kiteflying & exploring of our trip”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We visit the Oregon coast about every other year and mainly explore as far north as Tillamook and as far south as Waldport. This year the absolute best beach experience we had was on the north side of Devils Punchbowl. We had very small children up to pre-teens. They all had a blast.
When we parked at the lot above Devil's Punch Bowl we stopped and talked to a local walking her dog. She was very kind and happy we had brought our brood to explore. She told us of the path to the north of the parking lot that would lead us to the north beach. It was a great suggestion. IT was a paved path halfway down, then an eroded dirt path the last 15 feet.
Once we hit the beach the kids took off exploring. There was plenty of sand for those who wanted to do castles, and plenty of tide pools for those who wanted to explore.

Tide pools: We went at low tide, saw urchins, starfish (lots), crabs, anemones. The nice thing about these tide pools is that they were all very shallow and protected from the surf. A few others we'd visited that day were more precarious and a few in our party got soaked by spray. We felt comfortable letting our 4, 8 & 10 year old kids explore as long as we were nearby.

Punch Bowl: On the south end of the beach was what looked to be caves. When my boys went in I followed. (mind you with a baby on my back). It turned out to be the punch bowl. I didn't even know we could go in, but the tide was low enough that it wasn't a problem at all. It was VERY slippery and all the kids had sore knees when they left, but they had a good time in there for about 30 minutes. I didn't even realize there was a group of people watching from the top observation point until i panned up with my camera to showcase the top rim. I felt a little sheepish about the loud singing at that point (but hey.. the resonance was great).
When we came out of the punch bowl the sun was setting and the kite flyers were done. We took a few more pics and headed back to the cars.

Overall, it was our best stop on the trip. Something for everyone.
A few notes:
- There are bathrooms at the parking lot.
- I don't think there are any family restaurants nearby so bring something to eat, you'll want to be there a while, weather permitting.
- If at all possible get some rain boots or muck boots before you hit the coast. they will save you lots of cold toes. (When i say you i mean you. even if you get them for your kids, which i recommend, they will inevitably still get soaked). We stopped by a goodwill on our way through Portland to outfit the clan.
- Make sure your camera has a full charge :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Yeah-Thatd-be-great
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We just stopped here briefly but the rock formation. "punch bowl" is amazing. We happened to be here at sunset and it was breathtaking.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alysia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sisters, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Interesting Spot”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This place is like no other that I have seen. There is a big hole in the rocks where the ocean comes in and at high tide is quite deep. Once we went north and walked into it which was not a good idea if a big wave had come in.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Widlfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Stunning Scenery”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

If it's a stormy day around high tide, you WILL be impressed with this site. One of the few remaining free attractions on the Oregon Coast. Just bundle up good and enjoy the show.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank blacklab1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devils Punchbowl State Natural Area also viewed

 
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Devils Punchbowl State Natural Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing