We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy restaurant with sea view”

Georgie's Beachside Grill
Ranked #2 of 111 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: You enter Georgie's Beachside Grill and the first thing you notice is the view. The Pacific Ocean unfolds from tableside windows and sets the scene for a remarkable dining experience. Then you notice a few other things. Waiters greet people with a warm smile. Bartenders create crafted cocktails without a side order of arrogance. And kids are actually... happy to be here. It's no wonder this restaurant is a favorite with both visitors and locals alike. The menu reads like it's for a place where the jackets required are more of the polar fleece kind. There's no Foie Gras to be found or small portions that leave you longing for more. It's just plenty of mouthwatering authentic Northwest favorites with an emphasis on seafood. From expertly prepared halibut, salmon, Yaquina Bay Oysters, Dungeness crab and more to inventive dishes like the locals' favorite, Diablo Seafood Pasta, every appetite will be satisfied. There's even a delectable kids menu, vegetarian and gluten-free fare as well. Reservations are not accepted but you are welcome to call ahead put your name on the wait list. Georgie's is open daily at 7:30am.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
209 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Busy restaurant with sea view”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We went for dinner on a Friday evening around 6:30pm and waited almost an hour for a table as the restaurant was so busy. We had been told by the Hallmark reception that no reservations could be made, however, that didn't seem to be the case. The bar was full so we sat in the waiting area. Once seated we had excellent service from our wait staff and the food was plentiful and good and reasonably priced. Noise levels were high and the ambience is more fast food than romantic dining due to the volume of business.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Onx23mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicRabourn, General Manager at Georgie's Beachside Grill, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Onx23mm,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Georgie’s. The Hallmark staff was correct, we do not take reservations during the summer. I am happy to hear that the food and service were both excellent.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,673
    623
    181
    47
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great view, great food”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We went for lunch during a wedding anniversary trip. The food was fabulous, the view incredible, and the service excellent. After lunch we took the stairs to the beach, and had a great time there. Two thumbs up!

Helpful?
1 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicRabourn, General Manager at Georgie's Beachside Grill, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Sam B,

Thank you for your vote of approval! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your lunch with us during your anniversary trip. Thank you again for the review and Happy Anniversary!

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
148 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“4 different lunches entrees & everyone a winner”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

I had the west coast club sandwich and it was awesome - a perfect mix of ingredients. My only advice is to avoid the bar seating area for your meal as it can be really loud when the daiquiri machine runs. Mario behind the bar took super good care of us. Can't beat the view. Always take your out of town guest here for one meal either lunch or before nighttime as the sunsets are gorgeous. Price was right.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicRabourn, General Manager at Georgie's Beachside Grill, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Elaine M,

Thank you for the great review and your recommendation. I will be sure to share your comments with Mario. Thank you again for the review and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmett, Idaho
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Seafood in Newport.”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Great food! We had the seafood chowder and then the Diablo Seafood Fettuccini. Excellent. Prices are not bad at all.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kd7uch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicRabourn, General Manager at Georgie's Beachside Grill, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
kd7uch,

Thank you for the great review. I am happy to hear that you found us to be the best in Newport. We will be looking forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron Park, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It is really good chowder!”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We went to the bar for some clam chowder, sour dough bread and Chardonnay. It was rated pretty high for their chowder and I was pleasantly surprised that the ratings were correct. Of course, everyone has their own opinion and what they like, so when you hear someone say "it's the best chowder ever" you are expecting something really awesome. It truly was very good clam chowder! The sour dough bread was really good too. They do need to improve on their Chardonnay menu (not to be a wine snob). Overall, we were very pleased with our experience there and will return when we are in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeni_from_the_hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicRabourn, General Manager at Georgie's Beachside Grill, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Jeni_from_the_hill,

It is great to hear that our chowder lived up to your expectations for awesome! We are always open to suggestions so if you have any favorite Chardonnays please let us know. We are anxious to see you on your next visit to Newport.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georgie's Beachside Grill also viewed

 
Newport, Oregon Coast
 
Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Georgie's Beachside Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing