We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They never disappoint with their view and food!”

Georgie's Beachside Grill
Ranked #2 of 116 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: You enter Georgie's Beachside Grill and the first thing you notice is the view. The Pacific Ocean unfolds from tableside windows and sets the scene for a remarkable dining experience. Then you notice a few other things. Waiters greet people with a warm smile. Bartenders create crafted cocktails without a side order of arrogance. And kids are actually... happy to be here. It's no wonder this restaurant is a favorite with both visitors and locals alike. The menu reads like it's for a place where the jackets required are more of the polar fleece kind. There's no Foie Gras to be found or small portions that leave you longing for more. It's just plenty of mouthwatering authentic Northwest favorites with an emphasis on seafood. From expertly prepared halibut, salmon, Yaquina Bay Oysters, Dungeness crab and more to inventive dishes like the locals' favorite, Diablo Seafood Pasta, every appetite will be satisfied. There's even a delectable kids menu, vegetarian and gluten-free fare as well. Reservations are not accepted but you are welcome to call ahead put your name on the wait list. Georgie's is open daily at 7:30am.
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful view from every table, even in the bar! But kinda hard to enjoy the view when the food is so amazing! We go to Georgie's a couple of times a month and I usually get the halibut fish tacos, mmmm... these are what dreams are made of! The crab fondue, fried zucchini, Diablo pasta and their sandwiches are our tried and true favorites. Service is ok, nothing too brag about. Usually pretty clean place with above average pricing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank irishonthecoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicRabourn, General Manager at Georgie's Beachside Grill, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

irishonthecoast,

Thank you for reviewing your most recent visit to Georgie’s. I am sorry to hear that the service was not up to our usual standards. I can assure you that our restaurant team reads all of the reviews on TripAdvisor and will be making a sincere effort to improve. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,861)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,025 - 2,029 of 2,861 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2014

Our dinner was excellent from start to finish. The sourdough bread provided right after we sat down was flavorful, fresh, and hot. I ordered the crab cakes appetizer and it was the best crab cakes I have ever had in my life; they were meaty (other crab cakes I have eaten were bread) and tasty. I got the fried oysters dinner and the oysters were moist and delicious. For dessert we order the marionberry crisp which was very fruity with local ice cream. Throughout the dinner the services was excellent; friendly, prompt, and attentive. Although it was a foggy evening, the view was still good as we could watch the people walking along the beach.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank sdavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicRabourn, General Manager at Georgie's Beachside Grill, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

sdavi,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your dinner with us. I am thrilled to hear that the view, food and service were excellent. Thank you again for the review and we hope to see you again the next time you are in Newport.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Besides an outstanding ocean view, Georgie's Beachside Grill in Newport, Oregon makes THE Best Clam Chowder anywhere! It's thick and creamy with more large pieces of tender clams than potatoes. It is seasoned perfectly and one bowl will satisfy even a big appetite. We even took some to go and we enjoyed it the next day for lunch. Yum!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank whitewestie98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicRabourn, General Manager at Georgie's Beachside Grill, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

whitewestie98,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Georgie’s. I am happy to hear that our chowder ranked #1 on your list! We hope to have you back for another bowl soon.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

As usual, Georgie's ROCKS the grinds!!! Today it was tuna melt sammy and sweet potato fries for me and pan fried oysters for my hubzy wubzy and both were delish! The service and the view really keep us coming back also! Don't miss out on this great spot guys, you'll be sorry.

1  Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicRabourn, General Manager at Georgie's Beachside Grill, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Lucy C,

Thank you for the awesome review and your repeat visits to Georgie’s! It is great to hear all your visits have been enjoyable and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Trip Advisor steered us right. Wanted a good lunch in Newport but we drove around before we stumbled upon it without the address. All seats have a view and the restaurant is clean and relatively quiet. The menu has a nice, fresh selection. The halibut tacos were meaty yet light. The mango salsa and Spicy Ranch paired well. A delightful 7-cheese macaroni with optional bacon was endorsed by the waitress and justifiably so. We both agreed this was the best restaurant macaroni and cheese we ever had. This was a great dining experience and we plan to return.

1  Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicRabourn, General Manager at Georgie's Beachside Grill, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

M L,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Georgie’s. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your selections. We hope you will come and see us again the next time you visit the Oregon Coast.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georgie's Beachside Grill also viewed

 
Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Georgie's Beachside Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing