We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“raw vegetables”

Georgie's Beachside Grill
Ranked #1 of 111 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: You enter Georgie's Beachside Grill and the first thing you notice is the view. The Pacific Ocean unfolds from tableside windows and sets the scene for a remarkable dining experience. Then you notice a few other things. Waiters greet people with a warm smile. Bartenders create crafted cocktails without a side order of arrogance. And kids are actually... happy to be here. It's no wonder this restaurant is a favorite with both visitors and locals alike. The menu reads like it's for a place where the jackets required are more of the polar fleece kind. There's no Foie Gras to be found or small portions that leave you longing for more. It's just plenty of mouthwatering authentic Northwest favorites with an emphasis on seafood. From expertly prepared halibut, salmon, Yaquina Bay Oysters, Dungeness crab and more to inventive dishes like the locals' favorite, Diablo Seafood Pasta, every appetite will be satisfied. There's even a delectable kids menu, vegetarian and gluten-free fare as well. Reservations are not accepted but you are welcome to call ahead put your name on the wait list. Georgie's is open daily at 7:30am.
Cottage Grove, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“raw vegetables”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

A good menu, Ample portions, fair prices, but the steamed vegetables were barely warm and still hard. Service was great. I was somewhat nervous about the fact that they had to use the old fashioned credit card swipe with our account number in full view because their electronic service was down.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolynHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Georgie's Beachside Grill, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
CarolynHall,

Thank you for the review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear that the vegetables had not been fully cooked. I will be sure to discuss this with our Chef. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the rest of your meal with us.

All of the manual credit card slips have been shredded so there is no need for concern.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,710
    632
    183
    49
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“One of the best meals on our 10 day holiday”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Long line up to get in on Saturday night, but we were offered an oceanview window seat in the lounge and landed up staying there to dine. Service was excellent, food and presentation wonderful, atmosphere superb, wine list varied and interesting. Prices very reasonable. Total cost of our meal with bottle of wine was $66.50 and no sales tax.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank invue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Georgie's Beachside Grill, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
invue,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It sounds like you had an exceptional evening in the lounge. It is great to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your meal including the atmosphere and value.

We hope you will come and see us again on your next visit to the Oregon Coast.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Decent Food in a Generic Atmosphere”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Georgie's serves decent food that is ruined by an atmosphere reminiscent of a Denny's. A must-order is the Prime Rib Chili, which was very flavorful. For entrees, we had the Halibut Tacos and Diablo Seafood Pasta. Both were above average, if not spectacular. Our server was very good, especially considering how busy the restaurant was. The problem, however, was the atmosphere of the restaurant, or lack thereof. Despite having a big crowd and a great view, the place felt like a chain restaurant. This is a good place to go for a lunch or a casual dinner, but I would opt for somewhere else if you are looking for a more elegant atmosphere or romance.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TJBSt_Louis_Missouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Georgie's Beachside Grill, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
TJBSt_Louis_Missouri,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Georgie’s. I am glad to hear you were pleased with the food and service. You will be happy to know that Georgie’s will be getting a new look as part of our renovations in 2013. I can’t say we will be going for a fine dining or elegant atmosphere, but it will be a major update to the current look.

I do hope you will return and take a look at the improvements once they are complete.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“View and Food, both worth the price”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

When in Newport we have dinner here because it is consistently good. I had the Halibut oven baked in herbs and Olive oil, fresh veggies that were steamed, crisp and flavorful and rice pilaf and a sav blanc wine. My wife had a Bella burger that she enjoyed. The View is always delightful and the service is always good. There are lots of fine restaurants in Newport so the competition is tough but Georgies rises to the top always. If you are staying at any of the several motels/resorts along the beach here, Georgies is a nice walk if the weather is co-operating. We walked from the Elizabeth Street Inn, about 2 block away and enjoyed it. We'll be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jimsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Georgie's Beachside Grill, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
jimsue,

Thank you for your repeat visits to Georgie’s. We recognize there is a lot of great competition in Newport and we are honored you have chosen us as your top choice.

We hope you will be back to see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickenburg, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yummy Fish”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

They have consistently good food here and the views are wonderful. Don't go to Mo's when you can get 200% better food here and the same prices. The chowder at Georgie's is excellent also. The clam melt in your mouth. I did not get one dirty or chewy clam. I love Georgie's.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Samme45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Georgie's Beachside Grill, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Samme45,

Thank you for reviewing your meal with us on Trip Advisor. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit with us and I am sure those reading your review will appreciate your recommendations.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georgie's Beachside Grill also viewed

 
Newport, Oregon Coast
 
Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Georgie's Beachside Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing