We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of April's at Nye Beach - CLOSED

April's at Nye Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
631 reviews
310 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The menu is great---the food is wonderful----the service is excellent. What more could you want? Well, a good wine list and April's at Nye Beach has that also. We plan our trips to the Oregon coast so that we will be in the Newport area on a night when we can get a reservation at April's.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ballhawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    53
    17
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Had hopes for a great dinner, poor service prevented that.”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We knew April's had good reviews and wanted to have one "fancy" dinner while we were in town from Colorado. Came on our last night in town, a Wednesday evening, there were only 3 tables that had people at them, the rest were empty. When acknowledged by the waitress/hostess, she clearly wasn't excited to see customers and asked in a snotty tone whether we had reservations. When we said nope, she didn't say another word (perhaps an "Okay, we'll still be able to seat you" or whatever), and just walked us to a table and gave us menus. We read through the menu a bit, and just had a very cold feeling from her, as though we were really troubling her and were not really needed. Decided to leave and try our luck elsewhere. At at the nearby chowderhouse, not as fancy but very friendly! BTW-the server at April's who succeeded in making us feel not worthy of April's, was dressed in a sweatshirt, jeans, and croc's... not what I'd expected to see there!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hagenloveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Though a little pricey, Aprils has excellent food and service. The smoked trout appetizer is excellent, with a good sized fillet of trout, crostini, capers and veggies to eat it with. Lasagna is always on the menu and is always excellent if that fits your diet. I had their special-of-the-day Thai Salmon dish with basmati rice, which I would recommend to anyone who can handle a little heat.

After eating, Nye Beach is a great place for a stroll. The beach is only a stair-case away and is a great after-dinner option during the summer.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Point, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Food”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husband and I celebrated my birthday at April's. Meals are not etremely expensive, apropriate for a special occasion meal. The food was fresh, expertly prepared, with a casual, yet professional presentation. Salad or soup is ala carte. Dinner for two with salad, glass of wine and dessert came to $90, plus tip. The scallops were huge and butter-tender, served with a delicious light cream sauce, pearl couscous and fresh steamed vegetables. The scampi was also very tasty. Both were grilled to perfection, with just the right amount of seasoning, and not a bit greasy. I witnessed a steak served at a nearby table, and it looked very good, too. The bead was freshly baked.

We had reservations and arrived a few minutes early. We were seated immediately and our order taken promptly. Our waiter provided just the right amount of attention. My husband did not have to ask for another knife after he let his go with this salad plate. Meal courses were served in just the right amount of time and at no time during our meal did we feel rushed. The atmosphere was relaxing, not too formal. Weird thing, though - the line tablecloths were covered with butcher paper. I guess to save having to replace tablecloths between guests. For the price of the meal, I would expect linen, not butcher paper.

The only downside is a less than spectacular view of the ocean. If this is your expectation, you will be disappointed. The dining area is small and most of the window tables look out onto a brick street and the neighboring Sylvia Beach Hotel, with a distant view of the beach to the North East. I wouldn't rate April's as outstanding, because of the lack of an ocean view, but the food is definately worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
234 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Perfect execution, reasonably priced, romantic,”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Some tables have a view of Nye's beach. Seafood was perfectly done for mid to low $20s. The creme brulee was lovely as was the brownie sundae. Portion sizes were modest but probably appropriate....we are fairly used to unnecessarily large portions.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank lookin4luxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed April's at Nye Beach also viewed

 
Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing