We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food - great location!”

Mo's Original Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 112 Restaurants in Newport
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Started 70 years ago Mo's proud tradition brings you the best and freshest Oregon seafoods... unique, informal and friendly style at modest prices! Whether you want a complete seafood lunch or dinner... or just stop by for homebaked desserts, the welcome mat is always out at Mo's! Visit us soon... and visit us often... the friendliest place to meet and greet your friends. Serving NW seafood and the best chowder on the Oregon Coast. Everybody knows ya gotta go to Mo's!
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Good food - great location!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We arrived in Newport not knowing where to go or to eat. We stuck our head into Mo's and decided to try it out, remembering we had seen it on the food network. LOVED the location, got a window seat, and ordered up the chowder. We had plenty of clams in our chowder by the way LOL! We liked it so much we went back EVERY day we were in the area for 6 days..............., so that speaks for itself. The cheese toast will make you drool! The staff was wonderful, the view stunning, and we very much enjoyed the fisherman's hang out vibe of it. A not to be missed place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank csgoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    239
    184
    92
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Fish & Chips”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We went to Mo’s because of their reputation as one of the longest running restaurants in Newport and because of their “nationally known clam chowder”. Well…. we were not disappointed. Even though the Clam Chowder was not the best we had in Newport (see other review), it was not bad. Both my wife and I had the Fish & Chips (with the Halibut for $3.00 more witch I recommend) and it was wonderful. Very fresh and the beer batter was great. Our server was doing her best with the amount of people she had to take care of. She did take quite a while to refill our drinks, but that was understandable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaraD1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
“Disappointing”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stopped by last week for a couple of take out clam chowders, quite a long wait and when we got our chowder there were hardly any clams in it at all. They should rename it potato chowder because that is what it was. Really overrated.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Had high expectations for this place but was let down”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

the people inside this restaurant didn't look like they were enjoying themselves. The wait staff looked over worked and uninterested in customers. Our waiter was prompt with our drinks but took 10 minutes to come back and take our food order. He paid more attention to the people at the next table over than he did to us. When I asked for more water he rolled his eyes and walked away. The food was greasy and plain and our French fries weren't even cooked all the way through. The bathroom was clean and stocked, the restaurant was nicely furnished and the hostess was very sweet. But the food and service was terrible. We won't be returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jrdrgz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Shores, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
435 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“No frills fish”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We really just wanted a piece of fish and some chowder. Mo's has a way of combining all you want in one dish for a great price. I wanted a fish sandwich and ordered the Alaskan cod burger(?). It came with a shrimp salad or clam chowder. I got the shrimp. My husband got the Oyster sandwich and the clam chowder. We ended up mixing and matching as there was so much food. The cod was a bit dry (real piece of fish) but some lemon and tartar helped it along, the bun was ciabatta. The shrimp salad was actually shredded cabbage, mayo and small cold shrimp with dill and paprika on top, quite good. My husband said he enjoyed his oyster sandwich and the chowder was really good with a smoky taste of bacon lurking in the background.
This is a no frills, no nonsense restaurant and in no way gourmet but it hits the spot.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank millc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mo's Original Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mo's Original Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing