We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great beer, tired food”

Rogue Ales Bayfront Public House
Ranked #23 of 111 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner
Description: Rogue Ales Public House, originally named the Bayfront Brewery, was established in May of 1989. Rogue brewed its Ales within the Bayfront Brewery until 1992, when "Howard", the 15 barrel brew system was carried across the Newport Bay to the current location. The old brewery was converted into a poolroom which the locals call the Crustacean Stacean. Outside seating and 35 taps
Hermiston
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great beer, tired food”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

can't say enough good about the beer, don'like it in a plastic throw away cup. pub food keep expectations low drink lots of beer. the location is awesome

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gofarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    185
    118
    43
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Beer, Excellent Burgers”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

So my wife and I ate here for lunch. She had a Kobe Corn Dog and I had a Kobe Mushroom Burger...Fantastic!! Never had Kobe Beef before and it was quite tasty. I tried to call my cousin to get his opinion on which beer to try, but there is a no cell phone policy there...I got busted by the Beer Nazi...lol. I didn't see the sign, so he held one at me from the bar...OOPS! A cool place...bought a Limited Edition VooDoo Doughnuts Bacon Maple Ale on the way out...still haven't tried it. A cool store to buy brews and souvenirs.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TERRY G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The location is fun along the piers of Newport...the food is good...better than your average bar food. I'm not a huge beer connoisseur so I can't speak to it personally but those I went with spoke highly of the brews.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nicole_T_MSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good brew pub. Great beer”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The service is pub standard so you know what to expect but it is a pub after all. The food is certainly a cut above with the Mahi Mahi tacos being a true stand out. And as most anyone from Oregon will tell you Rogue brewery makes some truly fine beers. With the new Chipotle Beer being a mustbtry

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
144 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beer and Chowder Time Baby!!!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Rogue has several quality beers in their pubs. The selection of drinks is always a plus. Even their female non-beer drinks are legit. The bar tender is very friendly (Jolly old Richard!) My group really enjoyed the chowder. We ate at several restaurants through-out our Newport trip, and the Chowder at Rogue was our favorite. The price was kinda high but it is a tourist town so they can get away with it. The pool tables and dart board in the rear of the restaurant also add to the fun! Great place to enjoy some chowder and beers!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PuraVida6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rogue Ales Bayfront Public House also viewed

 
Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Rogue Ales Bayfront Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing