We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good brew pub. Great beer”

Rogue Ales Bayfront Public House
Ranked #18 of 109 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Rogue Ales Public House, originally named the Bayfront Brewery, was established in May of 1989. Rogue brewed its Ales within the Bayfront Brewery until 1992, when "Howard", the 15 barrel brew system was carried across the Newport Bay to the current location. The old brewery was converted into a poolroom which the locals call the Crustacean Stacean. Outside seating and 35 taps
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good brew pub. Great beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

The service is pub standard so you know what to expect but it is a pub after all. The food is certainly a cut above with the Mahi Mahi tacos being a true stand out. And as most anyone from Oregon will tell you Rogue brewery makes some truly fine beers. With the new Chipotle Beer being a mustbtry

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    185
    111
    42
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
144 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beer and Chowder Time Baby!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Rogue has several quality beers in their pubs. The selection of drinks is always a plus. Even their female non-beer drinks are legit. The bar tender is very friendly (Jolly old Richard!) My group really enjoyed the chowder. We ate at several restaurants through-out our Newport trip, and the Chowder at Rogue was our favorite. The price was kinda high but it is a tourist town so they can get away with it. The pool tables and dart board in the rear of the restaurant also add to the fun! Great place to enjoy some chowder and beers!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PuraVida6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bonneville, Washington
Level Contributor
119 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beer Guys Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

The Rogue people have made their beer a special niche for the beer lovers of the world and it all began across the bay here. The food is a nice compliment to the beer, my huby loves the kobe beef corn dog, is spendy, but worth every bite with his beer choice of the day. Clam chowder is a treat. That sais go for the beer & enjoy what comes with it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank marijd406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, Oregon
Level Contributor
186 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“great beer, but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is a bit of a strange place. You end up in the middleof the brewery in a bit of a grungy tavern, that seemed to built as an after thought. Can't tell you about food, but the folks eating there were not complaing loudly and throwing things. The beer is their thing and very fine it is indeed. you should go there at least once and see how you feel about the place. Again it is very different and smell like beer when you walk out, regardless of how many you have consumed. Good gift shop, too. Try it, it may be your thing. Wasn't mine.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I went in last night with my family for a quick weekday meal and couldn't believe it when my tab came to $65 with tip. The youngest had PB&J, oldest had Philly cheese steak, wife had a hummus appetizer dish with two beers and I had pork taco's with a beer.

The real disappointment was the pork tacos. $12 for a plate of shredded lettuce, shredded stale cheese, sour cream, salsa, a couple of small taco tortilla's and a few pieces of pork lost under the pile of lettuce. It would have been better called an appetizer dish at half the cost.

I’m a local and I've been here dozens of times over the years but last night was probably my last. The menu just doesn't have anything special, certainly nothing I would pay $12 for. I do like their beer though.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nodisplayname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rogue Ales Bayfront Public House also viewed

 
Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Rogue Ales Bayfront Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing