We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Waves of Newport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waves of Newport
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Lincoln City, Oregon
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Being summer on the Oregon Coast we chose a inexpensive property this time. At 109.00 a night, you get what you pay for. Booked through booking.com. Clean, older rooms. No complaints, well the bed was a little bit hard. Seemed to be family owned. We chose to stay one more night, they accommodated us. The hotel was totally booked, but took care of us at 10.00 less the 3 rd night. Located within waking distance of Nye Beach.Great beach for families and pets.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina2240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    62
    54
    21
    34
See reviews for
75
89
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

First of all, there is no elevator in this old, run down property. That meant lugging everything up and then back down 3 flights of stairs. The "ocean view room" was ocean crisscrossed with power lines. I was first impressed with the newer, well maintained pool room... but the pool water was too cold, so I moved to the jacuzzi and my eyes got chlorine burned from the bubbles popping in the air - which is an indicator of how much chlorine they used. It seemed nice at first that they had a DVD player, but it didn't work. The refrigerator was wobbly, the freezer door was broken, and it took about 5 hours for it to cool down enough that you could notice it was cooler in there than in the room. The breakfast was Eggo waffles, bread, and cold cereal. Overall, it was very disappointing.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, choose the 1st floor to avoid stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newport hotels

Gladstone, Oregon
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Just returned from Nye Beach and our stay at this motel. AS many people have commented, it is a little dated (80's) but clean and comfy. Rooms have a lot of oak furniture. Our room had modern colors and the bathroom had been updated. The continental breakfast was just that!! Your choice of juices, bagel, English muffin, fruit, waffles or cereal proved to be enough of a choice for us. Considering the price of the room, one should count themselves fortunate to have a "FREE" anything! The pool is nice and well kept. About 8 blocks away is the Nye Beach area. It is full of shopping and eating venues, as well as having a great "flat" beach (similar to Seaside turnaround area but smaller). It was a fun trip and I would recommend this place to a friend.

Room Tip: Get a corner room on the third floor. It is more quiet than the lower levels as you are only sharing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STEVEGD118595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I agree with a lot of the other reviews. The room was very hot. There is only a small window you can crank open with a broken screen. The hotel looks nothing like the photo. You have to walk a little ways to get onto the beach. The pool is in a separate building across the parking lot but it is clean and well stocked with towels. For the price its fine. It has Fridge, microwave and DVD player. Its nothing fancy but clean. The front desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. We decided to skip the breakfast. Can't say we would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

My wife and i stayed here on July 2nd. We had a third floor room, over looking the beach, and waves. They have an elevator which went to the third floor, and the noise it made while opening and closing sounded like it was from a horror movie, ( i think the bearings or what ever are dry). i noticed a few rooms had the doors propped open, beach side. As soon as we opened our room door, we were hit with a blast of hot air. I went over to the draw the drapes back and saw there was just one small window that could be opened for ventilation. I went to the door, propped it open, and the room began to cool down. there was no fans or anything to draw the cool ocean air into the room. just that small window. the room was clean, and ok. Just too hot for my liking. I mentioned it to the clerk when we checked out, that the room was hot, and a fan would been nice. He said that they had some there, and if we would have called the office, they would have brought one up. well, DUH. If i was given that info when we checked in, i would have. I think i would rather spend a few extra bux for a room with a view AND some sort of fan/ ac to cool it down for sleeping.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a fan/ or a room that has wider windows that may open, if you want an ocean vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middleton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2014

It does Not look like the picture to say the least, you have to walk across the parking lot for the pool, no elevator, the breakfast is awful and stale, beach access is not easy and if you have small children beware they have no screens on windows and they flip out far enough an adult could fall out.we were on the 3rd floor and it was not safe at all!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ransomlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
256 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We really liked this motel room! We had a room on the third floor, which cost a bit extra, but it was such a great view of the open ocean that it was worth it! Too bad about the telephone lines in the way, but it was still awesome! the room was clean, the bed was comfortable! A little bit of problem with the wifi, but it was fixed after we mentioned it. Breakfast was satisfactory. We found the place a bit hard to find. There is only a small sign that is visible if you enter town from the north, but no sign if you're coming from the south. Nice location once you find it! We would stay again!

Room Tip: It's worth it to ask for a room with a view on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.6 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves of Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves of Newport

Property: Waves of Newport
Address: 820 NW Coast St, Newport, OR 97365-3302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Waves of Newport 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Waves of Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves Of Newport Hotel Newport
Waves Hotel Newport
Waves Motel Newport
Waves Of Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing