We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wasn't what we expected”

Mazatlan Restaurant
Ranked #73 of 109 Restaurants in Newport
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Seal Rock, Oregon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wasn't what we expected”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We tried this restaurant on a Saturday night because all other restaurants we knew were filled. We should have gone for pizza! The noise level from the music playing made it hard to talk over the table. Our waitress was rude and impatient. We never got more chips for our salsa while waiting for our food. It was NOT worth the wait. It was the worst chile relleno I've ever had. The beef in my burrito was void of flavor but not fat. My friends said their food was tolerable but the experience horrible. So many other places in the area to go-I would choose elsewhere

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mklsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    7
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“save your $$”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Our first clue to leave the restaurant should've been that it was empty on a Saturday at 1p.m.

The food: Carne Asada burrito. Buried under a mound of lettuce & enchilada sauce. The more food is buried the more they are trying to hide the taste. And yes they were. Meat had the flavor & texture of canned meat & I've never had a carne aside burrito mixed w/beans. My fault for "assuming" the burrito did not have beans mixed in. Dumped salsa on it.

My husband's chili relleno: It was literally scrambled egg w/a green chili inside it. The taco looked like I had made it at home!

You can't fool someone who grew up on the border of Arizona. I know my Mexican flavors.

My advice: keep driving. I told my husband I would've rather saved $$ & ate at McD's!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ruthiepoo1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nothing close to the Mazatlan in Oakridge!”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Don't order any of the beef - its filled with gristle. Portion size good, but they don't have any real specialties to speak of. I had the super burrito (chicken) and it was good, but pedestrian. Prices too high for what you get.

Helpful?
2 Thank firstlish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plummer, Idaho
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Made on Site SALSA!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Great little late lunch stop and yummy salsa! Couldn't get enough. Price was fair. Service friendly. Could have been cleaner, but not the worst I've seen. Would go again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MLE0864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Rude waitress, food mediocre”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

At here with family during stop along the coast. Food was mediocre at best, waitress was incredibly rude! It wasn't busy when we were there waitress was short with us, slapping plates down on the table, She seemed annoyed we were making her do her job!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelBuginSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mazatlan Restaurant also viewed

Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Mazatlan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing