We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Newport
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (726)
Filter reviews
726 results
Traveler rating
395
242
69
15
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
395
242
69
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free popcorn nye beach continental breakfast great view third floor bagels room was clean ocean view beach access short walk indoor pool oregon coast double queen room the north end exercise room restaurants and shops top floor
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 726 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2020

Everything we could ask for from the very attentive staff to the amazing view from our room. We went for our anniversary which also happened to be a great storm weekend. The heated pool and hot tub were nice with a exercise room with nice equipment to use. They are a very pet friendly which is a five star rating for us.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NicoleJ2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer_Roberts265, Front Office Manager at The Whaler, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2020

Mark,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay with us.
Thank you for the 5 star rating.
We do love our furry friends that come to visit and their humans.
What an amazing storm we had over the weekend. Kings tide did bring in the storm watchers.
Happy late anniversary to you and your bride.
I am glad that your trip to the area was a pleasant one and we hope that it was all you expected it to be.
On your next visit to Newport we hope to welcome you back and Thank you for staying with us at the Whaler!

Karen Strom
Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020

The sign out front says Motel, and that is accurate. Room was small and outdated. Bathroom was small and shower was weak. The property is across the street from the beach, so it has an ocean view but it is obstructed by buildings that are actually beachfront properties. Breakfast is offered but might as well not be unless you like stale muffins and a banana.

The staff were helpful though, and it is a pet friendly property which we needed.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pbrendanlantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer_Roberts265, Front Office Manager at The Whaler, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2020

I am sorry to see that your stay with us wasn't all you expected.
All of our rooms had just been updated about 10 months ago when the hallmark took over.
We do own and rent out the beach houses across the street from the motel. They are great for families and friends that want more privacy.
We can only offer certain items to our continental breakfast because we do not have a full kitchen at this time.
If you would like to discuss more about your stay feel free to call.
Karen Strom
Office Manager
1-541-265-9261

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020

A motel teaming with value. Indoor pool and hot tub. Popcorn machine in the lobby. Continental breakfast. Pet friendly. Primo location in Newport. Can't ask for a better vacation getaway with children.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer_Roberts265, Front Office Manager at The Whaler, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2020

Jane,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay with us.
I am glad that your trip to the area was a pleasant one and I hope that it was all you expected it to be.
On your next visit to Newport we hope to welcome you back and Thank you for staying with us at the Whaler!

Karen Strom
Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2020

We stayed two nights in a pet friendly room. The price is good. Average rooms. Older motel that has had some updates. Comfortable beds. Friendly and helpful staff. The location is great. There is a view from every room . Beach is right across the street. The only thing that I didn't like was carpet in our pet friendly room. It had a lingering pet odor, so the room didn't feel that clean. From my dog, it was evident that someone else's dog had marked in there. Yuck. Non-pet rooms would probably be fine.

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tammy047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer_Roberts265, Front Office Manager at The Whaler, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2020

Greetings from The Whaler,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our Guest Satisfaction Survey after your most recent stay with us. It is great to hear your comments and suggestions.

We strive every day to ensure our guests have a wonderful experience and it is extremely encouraging for someone to tell us when we have succeeded. It is also important for us to hear when we have not met our guest’s expectations because that allows us to continue to improve. Thank you so much for taking the time to share this with us. I have forwarded your comments on to our management team as they always appreciate hearing guest feedback.

Thank you again for your comments. We truly appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit to The Whaler.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2020

Clean, friendly staff, updated room, wonderful location. Motel is a short walking distance to shops and restaurants. We didn’t drive anywhere as it was such a great location Pet friendly. We will be back for sure.

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank judesmom03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer_Roberts265, Front Office Manager at The Whaler, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay with us.
I am glad that your trip to the area was a pleasant one and I hope that it was all you expected it to be.
On your next visit to Newport we look forward to welcoming you back and Thank you for staying with us at the Whaler!

Karen Strom
Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews