We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & pet friendly”
Review of The Whaler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Whaler
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We ultimately chose this motel for allowing pets (we have 3 dogs) but also for it's prime unobstructed views of the ocean - which enabled me to take take beautiful sunset pictures & video. The rooms are dated but that's about the only complaint as it is in a very quiet area and close (2 minutes) to the boardwalk that goes down to the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HallZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 422 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

Room was nice and so was view. In the morning and at noon it poured rain into my bathroom through the light fixture when the people upstairs used the shower. They better fix it fast. I liked that the balcony's were private. Bed was okay, but pillows were too small and not much support. Don't bother trying to get oatmeal in the morning if there is a crowd in there because everything to make your oatmeal is spread out and too many people were in the way of everything I needed. Even though I was in there first people came in like they were starved to death and gonna miss out on the food. Everything was in a different spot as far as the oatmeal, water, microwave, sugar, milk. I finally gave up when nobody would let me get to anything. I would stay here again for the view and in a room that doesn't have water pouring in, otherwise room was nice. Didn't even notice where they had juice in the breakfast that would have been nice if I saw it before the crowd rushed in. The younger woman at customer service were okay. Didn't care for the older woman there for different reasons.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Highly recommend the Whaler, especially the newer rooms at the north end of the complex. Ocean views at it's best and close to the beach. Price is great for the winter special tops other offers nearby. The staff is over-the-top friendly and accommodating. We looked at different rooms and the willingly facilitated our decision making to get what we desired. I've traveled a lot and you can expect excellent service at the Whaler. The north end of the building ground floor is the economical option for a larger room and a open view to the sea.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank 9,642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed in "Junior Queen Suite" this visit and it was just as nice as our previous stay sans the gas fireplace and wet bar. Didn't really miss either one. The 3rd floor is the place to stay if available and you are comfortable with stairs. We have stayed in two other hotels just to the south of the Whaler and while their rooms may be a little newer and a little more selection for the breakfast, I'd rather pocket the $30-$40 difference in room price and use it for dinner. Our room was clean, new TV, and the internet connection was easy to use and fast. The staff was courteous and helpful. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: 3rd floor at the north end of the hotel - nice view (city park below rooms) and closest to beach acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spingor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

After along day of driving we were thrilled to discover Newport and The Whaler Motel. A great area and also very helpful staff at Reception. Rooms were clean and had a great view and breakfast was simple but definitely enough. Enjoyed our stay and it was not long enough. A quaint little beachside town as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susie63255325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

You can't beat this view of the ocean from all rooms in The Whaler, and it is undoubtedly a bargain. Also, we've loved it in the past, but this time the room was not clean. It was puzzling as it had been a great motel last year. This time, we had previous guests' coffee in the in-room coffee pot, a noticeable stain on the sheet, and mold on the bathroom ceiling. Did we hit the cleaning crew on a bad day? Has something changed? We don't know, can only tell you what we saw.
On the positive side, the desk staff was as engaged and friendly as can be.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judith-PDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great service and amazing beach front location. Pets allowed but you can't leave them in the room. Free coffee and basic continental breakfast included. Friendly staff, comfortable bed, very clean. Definitely would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank mohica77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
Elizabeth Oceanfront Suites
0.4 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
897 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whaler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whaler

Address: 155 SW Elizabeth St, Newport, OR 97365-3943
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
#8 Family Hotel in Newport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $97 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whaler offers 73 quiet,spacious, hotel rooms,each with private balcony overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Beautiful heated indoor pool & spa and exercise facility. Easy beach access to one of the most scenic beaches on the Oregon coast. The Whaler is adjacent to the Newport Performing Arts Center, and only a short distance away from Yaquina Bay, the historic Newport bayfront, a variety of restaurants, unique shopping and the Oregon Coast Aquarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Whaler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler Hotel Newport
Whaler Hotel Newport
Whaler Motel Newport
The Whaler Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing