We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Motel”
Review of The Whaler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Whaler
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Caldwell, Idaho, United States
2 reviews
“Great Motel”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Whaler. Most comfortable beds we have ever slept in while away from home. Great View of the ocean and within a short walk we were on the beach. We played in the Hot Tub and Swimming pool, had lots of fun. We will be staying there again the next time we visit Newport. :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    167
    44
    10
    4
See reviews for
120
181
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Check in was quick and easy. They have popcorn, coffee and tea available in the lobby for a nice little treat. A simple but convenient continental breakfast was available until 10am. Muffins, cereal, bagels, coffe and tea. The view was spectacular! We slept with the sliding glass door open so we could listen to the ocean all night. The beds were pretty comfortable as well.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imwatching2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, tx
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This Motel does overlook the beach. Its on a hill and you have to cross a street to actually get to the area that goes down to the beach. Still it is very close and the even the view from our 1st floor rooms was great.

The rooms were clean and updated. Didn't use the wifi. The beds were comfortable and there was a nice ocean breeze blowing. Staff was friendly. The beach was beautiful (but it is a bit of down hill hike down to it--fine if you have no problem walking, but might be a bit much if you do.)

Close to a couple of restaurants. Lady at the front desk recommended the Chowder house which was ok.

They had the usual muffins, pastries and cereal for breakfast (there really isn't room in lobby to eat, but they have trays you can take back to your room.)

We did like the place and would stay there again.

Room Tip: View might be a little better on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvadore
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here at least a dozen times over the years and the have always had friendly service and clean rooms but for well over a $100 I think its understandableb to expect bed linens from this decade.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skeeter_Maggie_Worm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park TX
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Nice hotel with ocean view,fireplace in room, very comfortable bed. Staff were friendly, very helpful. They had breakfast ready early the next morning so my husband could grab something before his fishing trip and let us check out late so he could shower after fishing. Great experience

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanapat53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Depoe Bay, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed 8/21-8/23 3 nights... On first floor on the north end in king mini suite.. Excellent views q
Quiet,comfortable room with nice size fridge and microwave.. Breakfast very basic. Only muffins, toast, cereal and bagels. Wife and I would have liked yogurt... Enjoyable Stay!!!

Room Tip: Upper floors probably have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJKISS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our family stayed here recently. Our room was on the top floor. When we walked in the room, we were amazed at the gorgeous view. We were right across the street from the beach! We also had a clear view of the lighthouse to the north of us. We watched the sun go down, it was beautiful! The path down to the beach was directly across from us, there is a great stretch of beach. There was also great rocks to climb on. The kids loved finding the little crabs and other sea creatures in the little pools around the rocks.
The room was clean and comfortable, but the view is what makes it worth coming back for again and again!

Room Tip: We are looking forward to coming back! Great beach access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnymamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,043 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.4 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
0.4 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whaler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whaler

Property: The Whaler
Address: 155 SW Elizabeth St, Newport, OR 97365-3943
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#8 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whaler offers 73 quiet,spacious, hotel rooms,each with private balcony overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Beautiful heated indoor pool & spa and exercise facility. Easy beach access to one of the most scenic beaches on the Oregon coast. The Whaler is adjacent to the Newport Performing Arts Center, and only a short distance away from Yaquina Bay, the historic Newport bayfront, a variety of restaurants, unique shopping and the Oregon Coast Aquarium. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Whaler Hotel Newport
Whaler Hotel Newport
Whaler Motel Newport
The Whaler Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing