We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of The Whaler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Whaler
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We found this hotel to be clean and comfortable. It was not fancy, but that's ok with us. We loved the location. It was within walking distance of the Nye Beach district and not too far from the lighthouse. We booked a lower level room (aka less expensive) as we knew we would not be there much. I do recommend getting a 3 floor room if you want an unobstructed view of the ocean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srcorrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
There are newer reviews for The Whaler
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 413 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel room was clean. We did have a good view. It was fairly basic, fairly outdated tube TV with terrible cable. I'd probably try for a different location if I get to go back to Newport. I can't say it was terrible. The staff were quite nice and were accommodating. It felt like your typical overnight hotel and for 153 dollars I guess I hoped for a bit more. It's very close to the beach - you seriously just walk across the street and down a path.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iowamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Let me start off by saying I loved New Port. Such a beautiful, peaceful place. Our hotel location could not have been better. Overlooking Nye beach on Elizabeth St. I booked at the Whaler because I thought it would be best for kids as we were travelling with 2.
Other than the location, pool and internet access I would say this hotel (really a motel) is lacking. Needs updates, kind of icky bathrooms, no air conditoning and the "lobby" where we grab our "breakfast" and bring up to our room on cafeteria trays is tiny to say the least.
The best part of this place is that all rooms have a view of the beach, but I would have stayed down the road a bit had I known about the lack of air conditioning, updates and lobby area.

Room Tip: If you must stay, pick a third floor room. You will have the best view and the least amount of noise...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jevac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The rooms need updated as well as the fixtures. However, had flat screen TV. The wi fi sucked but we were so close to the ocean my phone could not recognize where we are. My husband has a very stressful career and we had the do not disturb sign up but we were disturbed by phone several times. Most hotels do not disturb you when you have the sign up. They put a note underneath the door. Hopefully they will read the review and change their housekeeping procedures to not call and put a note underneath door.

Get rid of the old bedspreads. comforters are in 21st century

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was great, it was clean and had great views. Could use some updating, but for the price it's well worth it. It's a five minute walk to the beach and a 5-10 minute walk from nye beach restaurants and shops. It's a 15 min drive from all the other attractions. I would recommend staying here and I would stay again. It's not a 5 star but it's a 5 star in my book for location.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chillytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had two rooms adjoining, and it worked perfectly for our crowd of 6. No smoking anywhere, which was an absolute plus for us. Kids especially loved the free popcorn in the lobby, plus the pool when it was too chilly to go on the beach. Price was reasonable, room was clean, 'breakfast' was a bit sparse, but adequate. Walk to the boardwalk restaurants, and there's a good kid's park about two blocks away. Only negative was the use of flat sheets for bottom sheet instead of fitted sheets. Kept having to tuck them back in every time the kids moved around. Other than that minor thing, it was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: If you get adjoining rooms, make sure one has the microwave and kitchenette. Very convenient. Don...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrTraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed at this fine Motel with my Daughter and 2 young Grandsons on Sunday & Monday nights. We had a double Queen room on the third floor, with a great view of Yaquina Head Lighthouse. Our room was spacious, with a small sofa that could be made into another bed, a coffee table, a comfortable chair, a desk & chair. There is wireless internet available. The private balcony had two chairs and a small table. The bathroom was nicely appointed, with nice fluffy towels, large mirrors and a roomy closet.
Everything was impeccably clean. The staff were friendly and helpful from the front desk when we checked in to the young man who brought us fresh towels for the second day. The night desk person gave me a zip lock Baggie for ice for the younger Grandson's head bump.
We took advantage of the nice pool and jacuzzi, and I tried out the equipment in the exercise room. It is only a short walk across the road to the Beach! The GrandBoys saw starfish at low tide, ran and played in the waves, and each found a great stick of driftwood.
I appreciated the no smoking rules and the elevator to take us up to the 3rd floor. It was a Wonderful Stay and we are planning to return soon!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank skye_zeph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,056 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.4 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
0.4 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whaler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whaler

Address: 155 SW Elizabeth St, Newport, OR 97365-3943
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
#8 Family Hotel in Newport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $140 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whaler offers 73 quiet,spacious, hotel rooms,each with private balcony overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Beautiful heated indoor pool & spa and exercise facility. Easy beach access to one of the most scenic beaches on the Oregon coast. The Whaler is adjacent to the Newport Performing Arts Center, and only a short distance away from Yaquina Bay, the historic Newport bayfront, a variety of restaurants, unique shopping and the Oregon Coast Aquarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Whaler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler Hotel Newport
Whaler Hotel Newport
Whaler Motel Newport
The Whaler Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing