We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Wonderful Stay!”
Review of The Whaler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Whaler
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed at this fine Motel with my Daughter and 2 young Grandsons on Sunday & Monday nights. We had a double Queen room on the third floor, with a great view of Yaquina Head Lighthouse. Our room was spacious, with a small sofa that could be made into another bed, a coffee table, a comfortable chair, a desk & chair. There is wireless internet available. The private balcony had two chairs and a small table. The bathroom was nicely appointed, with nice fluffy towels, large mirrors and a roomy closet.
Everything was impeccably clean. The staff were friendly and helpful from the front desk when we checked in to the young man who brought us fresh towels for the second day. The night desk person gave me a zip lock Baggie for ice for the younger Grandson's head bump.
We took advantage of the nice pool and jacuzzi, and I tried out the equipment in the exercise room. It is only a short walk across the road to the Beach! The GrandBoys saw starfish at low tide, ran and played in the waves, and each found a great stick of driftwood.
I appreciated the no smoking rules and the elevator to take us up to the 3rd floor. It was a Wonderful Stay and we are planning to return soon!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank skye_zeph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 420 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed one night at the Whaler on our trip down the Oregon Coast. The room was clean, and had a private balcony overlooking the ocean (which was fog-covered during our stay). Staff was friendly and lobby was clean and had good coffee and quality continental breakfast items. It is a short walk to the beach, and a relatively short pleasant (hilly) stroll over to the bay side where we ate at Mo's for some great seafood!

Room Tip: Higher up floors have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The location is right across the road from the beach, unfortunately all we saw was fog! Our room was pretty basic and dated but it was clean, although there was a smell to the room when we first arrived so we opened the room up and aired it out. We had a fridge but no microwave ( one in the lobby). Breakfast was fine, usual fare that you took back to the bedroom. Pool was nice. Best things were the towels, big and fluffy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I admit to being a hotel snob, so was very cautious about staying at the Whaler. Thanks to my fellow Trip Advisors, we took the plunge and booked the Whaler for 2 night. We had requested a 3rd floor room and received one. Thankfully they do have an excellent elevator for lugging luggage to the rooms.
As you walk into the room, all you can see is the ocean in front of you. Wonderful! Our King bed was very comfortable with good sheets. My only complaint is that I'd like to see them upgrade their bed covers from the typical bedspread of the 80's to something else. For our stay, I removed it from the bed and put in the closet...
Good fridge and coffee maker in the room - nicely appointed with eco bathing products. Kudos to the chamber maid group - the bathroom was spotless as were the carpets. They have free wifi that is easy to connect and a great continental breakfast in the morning with decent coffee..
We didn't use the pool or gym area, but they looked inviting too. This is located within walking distance to Nye beach shops - and the beach is across the street. The little window that opens to the ocean is a great treat if you want to listen to the ocean at night.
The Whaler also has pet friendly rooms for those of you who travel with your dogs (no cats).

But the single biggest reason for me rating this as Excellent was the lack of noise. I'm not certain how they have soundproofed between rooms, but it was amazingly quiet. We had a very large family right next door and we never heard a peep or bump... Result - a great night of sleeping uninterrupted and the place was sold out each night we were there.

So big Kudos to the Whaler family owned Inn.. This is not motel - it's a wonderful place to call home even for just a few nights. For those of you who have big families, they also have 4 houses they rent by the night at very reasonable rates. We are already thinking of our next trip west to visit family and thinking this would be a great place to call home.

Room Tip: Ask for a 3rd floor room... we were in 380 - almost at the end... but no worries as all the rooms fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rockyisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed one night in The Whaler, and it was money well spent. We arrived at the hotel an hour before check in time, but there was no problem with our checking in early. Our room was on the third floor, and we had a great view of the ocean from the balcony - although all of the rooms have balconies that face the water. The bed was comfortable, and the room was spacious. We used the pool and spa, which were a nice option to have. The continental breakfast was also a nice touch, and the hotel provides trays so people can take the breakfast back to their rooms. We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Syl_in_Tennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed at this Whaler for a couple of nights and it has a beautiful setting right by the sea. You can go for long walks on the beach easily accessible from the hotel. The room was clean and had everything I needed with a balcony overlooking the sea. The gym, pool and breakfast would all rank as average. I considered other options in Newport but I am glad that I stayed here in a better area of town. If you are into micro brewed beer I would recommend a visit to Bier One that’s a 10 minute walk from the Whaler.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ross_Eld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The room was clean and close to the beach with a great view of the ocean. Also, the little windows in the sliding glass door were great so that we didn't have to leave the door open all night but could still get the sea sound and the sea air. People were friendly and the continental breakfast was about as expected. Pool and spa area felt too enclosed to us and super chlorine-y smelling so we didn't partake. Little workout area would be good to get moving but not for a "workout" per se. Super easy walking distance to Nye Beach area of Newport. We would stay again!

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room on the third floor for the best view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,077 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.4 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
0.4 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whaler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whaler

Address: 155 SW Elizabeth St, Newport, OR 97365-3943
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#8 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $97 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whaler offers 73 quiet,spacious, hotel rooms,each with private balcony overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Beautiful heated indoor pool & spa and exercise facility. Easy beach access to one of the most scenic beaches on the Oregon coast. The Whaler is adjacent to the Newport Performing Arts Center, and only a short distance away from Yaquina Bay, the historic Newport bayfront, a variety of restaurants, unique shopping and the Oregon Coast Aquarium. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Whaler Hotel Newport
Whaler Hotel Newport
Whaler Motel Newport
The Whaler Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing