We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view, affordable clean lodging!”
Review of The Whaler

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Whaler
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Muncie
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great view, affordable clean lodging!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed one night at the Whaler on our trip down the Oregon Coast. The room was clean, and had a private balcony overlooking the ocean (which was fog-covered during our stay). Staff was friendly and lobby was clean and had good coffee and quality continental breakfast items. It is a short walk to the beach, and a relatively short pleasant (hilly) stroll over to the bay side where we ate at Mo's for some great seafood!

Room Tip: Higher up floors have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    165
    42
    10
    4
See reviews for
114
180
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The location is right across the road from the beach, unfortunately all we saw was fog! Our room was pretty basic and dated but it was clean, although there was a smell to the room when we first arrived so we opened the room up and aired it out. We had a fridge but no microwave ( one in the lobby). Breakfast was fine, usual fare that you took back to the bedroom. Pool was nice. Best things were the towels, big and fluffy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
430 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I admit to being a hotel snob, so was very cautious about staying at the Whaler. Thanks to my fellow Trip Advisors, we took the plunge and booked the Whaler for 2 night. We had requested a 3rd floor room and received one. Thankfully they do have an excellent elevator for lugging luggage to the rooms.
As you walk into the room, all you can see is the ocean in front of you. Wonderful! Our King bed was very comfortable with good sheets. My only complaint is that I'd like to see them upgrade their bed covers from the typical bedspread of the 80's to something else. For our stay, I removed it from the bed and put in the closet...
Good fridge and coffee maker in the room - nicely appointed with eco bathing products. Kudos to the chamber maid group - the bathroom was spotless as were the carpets. They have free wifi that is easy to connect and a great continental breakfast in the morning with decent coffee..
We didn't use the pool or gym area, but they looked inviting too. This is located within walking distance to Nye beach shops - and the beach is across the street. The little window that opens to the ocean is a great treat if you want to listen to the ocean at night.
The Whaler also has pet friendly rooms for those of you who travel with your dogs (no cats).

But the single biggest reason for me rating this as Excellent was the lack of noise. I'm not certain how they have soundproofed between rooms, but it was amazingly quiet. We had a very large family right next door and we never heard a peep or bump... Result - a great night of sleeping uninterrupted and the place was sold out each night we were there.

So big Kudos to the Whaler family owned Inn.. This is not motel - it's a wonderful place to call home even for just a few nights. For those of you who have big families, they also have 4 houses they rent by the night at very reasonable rates. We are already thinking of our next trip west to visit family and thinking this would be a great place to call home.

Room Tip: Ask for a 3rd floor room... we were in 380 - almost at the end... but no worries as all the rooms fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rockyisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed one night in The Whaler, and it was money well spent. We arrived at the hotel an hour before check in time, but there was no problem with our checking in early. Our room was on the third floor, and we had a great view of the ocean from the balcony - although all of the rooms have balconies that face the water. The bed was comfortable, and the room was spacious. We used the pool and spa, which were a nice option to have. The continental breakfast was also a nice touch, and the hotel provides trays so people can take the breakfast back to their rooms. We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syl_in_Tennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed at this Whaler for a couple of nights and it has a beautiful setting right by the sea. You can go for long walks on the beach easily accessible from the hotel. The room was clean and had everything I needed with a balcony overlooking the sea. The gym, pool and breakfast would all rank as average. I considered other options in Newport but I am glad that I stayed here in a better area of town. If you are into micro brewed beer I would recommend a visit to Bier One that’s a 10 minute walk from the Whaler.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ross_Eld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene
Level Contributor
57 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The room was clean and close to the beach with a great view of the ocean. Also, the little windows in the sliding glass door were great so that we didn't have to leave the door open all night but could still get the sea sound and the sea air. People were friendly and the continental breakfast was about as expected. Pool and spa area felt too enclosed to us and super chlorine-y smelling so we didn't partake. Little workout area would be good to get moving but not for a "workout" per se. Super easy walking distance to Nye Beach area of Newport. We would stay again!

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room on the third floor for the best view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Cozy room overlooking the ocean. Beautiful sunset views, all rooms have their own patio doors looking upon the ocean. Room was very clean, nicely decorated. Service was excellent. We may yet stay another night just because; barring that I would suspect that if we return to Newport that we will definitely stay here again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We are on the first floor; higher floors may be able to see the beach as well as the ocean. We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.4 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.2 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whaler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whaler

Property: The Whaler
Address: 155 SW Elizabeth St, Newport, OR 97365-3943
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
#8 Family Hotel in Newport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whaler offers 73 quiet,spacious, hotel rooms,each with private balcony overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Beautiful heated indoor pool & spa and exercise facility. Easy beach access to one of the most scenic beaches on the Oregon coast. The Whaler is adjacent to the Newport Performing Arts Center, and only a short distance away from Yaquina Bay, the historic Newport bayfront, a variety of restaurants, unique shopping and the Oregon Coast Aquarium. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Whaler Hotel Newport
Whaler Hotel Newport
Whaler Motel Newport
The Whaler Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing