We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a great little motel for a price point/value comparison”
Review of The Whaler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Whaler
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
CO
1 review
“This is a great little motel for a price point/value comparison”
Reviewed June 20, 2008

First, thank you to the OR forum for recommending this motel. We stayed here June 18-19 in the basic Queen room (had two rooms for first night for daugher and grandaughter, and one for us alone second night)

CHECK-IN
The service people are very friendly, happy to offer any assistance with directions in town, maps, etc. They had good popcorn in lobby for an afternoon snack.

We paid $69 for the queen room with senior discount for us, and $79 for the room next door for daughter and her toddler. These were mid-week June rates.

Also, we called for reservations beforehand, and they were very upfront about construction going on in June to add balconies to the rooms and the elevator being added (or repaired) I am not sure which, but we knew going in there was construction going on. But we were gone most of the day time, it was fine at night.

ROOMS
The rooms are pretty basic, but I thought they were good for a budget motel. The carpet was getting a bit worn, but I did notice in the rooms they are remodeling, they are putting in all-new carpet.

The bathroom was very clean. It has a fair-sized bathroom with toilet and bath/shower combo. Soap and shampoo for products. Water pressure good. Just outside the bathroom is a sink area and a hanging area for clothes. Hair dryer on wall.

Our bedroom area had a comfortable matress, table with a couple chairs, armoire with drawers and tv (about sixty channels), desk next to it, and refrigerator. Also a coffee maker and tea/coffee.

We had rooms on 3rd floor, Nice ocean view, including the lighthouse toward the north.

It was a little bit warm (we were lucky to be there on two really sunny days). But there is a window to open up to get the breeze through. By the time we came back from dinner, was cooled off. Although, be aware that the daughter did not want to open her's because was afraid of a toddler exploring and tipping out because they do open out and downwards. Although from their construction work looks like they are adding on balconies, so this might not be a problem in future.

POOL
They have a pool and hot tub and exercise room in a building across from check-in. I thought the pool and hot tub were very clean and well-maintained. I didn't do the exercise room, but looked to be several machines.

BEACH ACCESS
This is not exactly right on the beach, but very close (have to cross a street, but very easy to get there). You can take a little walk way on the other side of motel (opposite the lobby). There is a sloped walkway to go down to the beach, and it is really convenient.

FOOD
This is really close to the Nye beach restaurant area. There are several choices there. In the morning, the Whaler has toast, bagels, muffins, fruit, coffee, juice, cereal, etc.

I really thought this was a good motel for the price. My expectations (knowing I was going budget) were really exceeded.

  • Liked — Clean, Budget-Friendly, ok indoor pool
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank IzzyblizzyCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    167
    44
    10
    4
See reviews for
119
181
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
lvoregon
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2008

My family and I have stayed here numerous times, and have enjoyed it everytime. Its most memorable because the first time we stayed I got a great view of the ocean (although I believe all rooms have ocean views) and got to see dozens of the resident whales spouting out in the horizon. It has easy access to the ocean, is nearby restaurants, and is a short drive away from old town Newport. Not an extravagant hotel, but is worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lvoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.c.
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2008

Management and staff went out of their way to make our recent stay a most enjoyable one. Property is well maintained, convenient to all area attractions and restaurants. The indoor pool and hot tub area were emaculately maintained.

  • Liked — pool and jacuzzi
  • Disliked — no elevators
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebbtide2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boise idaho
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2007

Having stayed in Newport 5 times or more I was glad to find this little gem. The price was resonable, service was exellent and the view outstanding. My wife loves lighthouses and from our corner room you couple see Yakina head. The walk to the beach is short and mostly paved and not very busy. Watch out for the hotels that say they are on the beach most have a long walks on steep stairs or sand. Lots of places to eat nearby. Try Georgies down the street for lunch or dinner. The Costco type muffins were fresh and saved on breakfast cost and made for more time at the beach at low tide in the morning. Pool was nice with a little work out area and changing rooms. Super stay and will be back next year for the same room.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kestrelway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2007

We just accidentally found this motel while looking for another. The location was great across from the beach. The room was clean, quiet, and spacious with a fireplace (unfortunately it was too warm to try it). The exercise room was okay--well-maintained equipment, but could've used some kind of weights or another cardio machine. The jacuzzi was above-average--most jacuzzis aren't hot enough and have weak jets--this one was great. It is located indoors next to the pool and there is a shower to wash off next to it, plus bathrooms. The continental breakfast was average, but with the whole package I would say it was a pretty good value. I wouldn't recommend the big oceanside restaurant down the street though. Very mediocre food.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank NicoleLosGatos_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2007

The staff and extras were wonderful...popcorn in the lobby, coffee, very very friendly staff and nice breakfast! Location is nice, but the western exposure made the little rooms hot despite the rooms having an old fasioned mini transom...Balcony would make a big difference! A good deal for the price..clean, nice room, but pretty basic.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank clairann2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2007

We stayed at the Whaler this past Thursday and Friday. Overall, it was a nice, quiet place that made you feel welcome. The staff were always very friendly and attentive.
The rooms were well-kept, continental breakfast in the morning was good, and the coffee was very tasty. We did use the exercise room, but since it's attached to the indoor pool, after 20 minutes I felt I was breathing in chlorine fumes and had to quit.
We were a bit surprised that our room didn't have either a balcony or a kitchenette as others had mentioned in their posts. Only a small portion of the rooms have balconies, the others just have one window that opens out, however, it is a beautiful view of the ocean.
Newport is a very nice town with many activities. Had an EXCELLENT meal (I had ahi tuna and husband had salmon) at Quimby's, which is just a short walk from the motel. It's a bit pricey, but very well worth the cost and service was impeccable. We highly recommend. Also went to Georgie's and Mo's and the food was very good and reasonably priced. Especially enjoyed Georgie's as it overlooks the ocean.
Definitely visit the bay area while you're there because it is quite unique. My sister ate at Sada's, which is within the bay area, and she said the food was exceptional and reasonably priced.
It appears that numerous people drive from California, Oregon and Washington visit this particular area. Many of them bring their dogs. You'll see them at the motel, beach, trails, about everywhere you go. We loved this about this area and really wished we could have done the same with our dogs, however the flight was too long.
Overall, if I returned to this area I would go back to the Whaler, however, I would request a room with a balcony. I personally prefer much warmer weather than Oregon has to offer but it is a very beautiful, tranquil state.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — no balcony
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Skipper711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,029 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.4 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.2 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
0.3 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whaler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whaler

Property: The Whaler
Address: 155 SW Elizabeth St, Newport, OR 97365-3943
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
#8 Family Hotel in Newport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whaler offers 73 quiet,spacious, hotel rooms,each with private balcony overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Beautiful heated indoor pool & spa and exercise facility. Easy beach access to one of the most scenic beaches on the Oregon coast. The Whaler is adjacent to the Newport Performing Arts Center, and only a short distance away from Yaquina Bay, the historic Newport bayfront, a variety of restaurants, unique shopping and the Oregon Coast Aquarium. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Whaler Hotel Newport
Whaler Hotel Newport
Whaler Motel Newport
The Whaler Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing