We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yeah...loved our stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Whaler

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Whaler
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Shasta, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Yeah...loved our stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

This was an incredible wonderful place to spend several nights at the ocean...the cleanliness of the room and spa area was better than anywhere else I have stayed in years. Be prepared though, the continental breakfast is nothing remarkable and better to just skip it. However, our room had a microwave, refrigerator and dishes for 4...made it easy to create our own food. It was beautiful and healing to wake up hearing the surf and watching the beautiful ocean from our bed...great value...great place to stay...will definitely return

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 245Quigley__
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    165
    42
    10
    4
See reviews for
114
180
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here in December 2012 and had a wonderful time. The thing that appealed to us the most were the fantastic views and the direct access to the beach. My partner swam in the pool almost every day. We had a suite with a little kitchenette, quite a bonus. And finally, our dog loved the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VanSask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
119 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

It's hard to define why, but we both really liked the rooms here. Everything was spotlessly clean and worked well, the staff were friendly and helpful and the location excellent. Only gripe is the the bed is a little small, possibly a double rather than a queen-sized, but I didn't check this beforehand, so my own fault.

The view looked good in the morning, but we arrived after dark so only stayed on the ground floor and didn't really get the full benefit. Wi-Fi connection is good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank swhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have stayed at The Whaler many times over the last twenty years and have always found the rooms clean, the employees friendly, and one of the best views available on the coast. We have without hesitation recommended our friends and family to stay at the Whaler when looking for somewhere to stay at the coast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
274 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We spent two nights in late December. I think we were only one of a handful of rooms in the entire hotel. The staff was attentive, the room was clean and simple, the internet connection was great, and for that third floor view and what we paid- it was a steal.

Can't wait to go back. Again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piercedlibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed here in November for two nights. They were running a special, which was great. We make our annual trip to the Oregon Coast every October/November. We have tried many hotels/motels up and down the Oregon Coast and I think we've found our favorite place.

The accommodations are simple, but the motel is very, very clean. Let me stress - very clean. I'm a neat freak and this is the first place where I've not felt I needed to whip out the Clorox wipes.

The view was fantastic. Although it did pour like crazy our entire time on the coast, we had a view that was easy to enjoy from the comfort of our room. The only complaint would be the pillows, but we read in advance that the pillows are very soft, so we brought our own and all was right with the world.

The shower pressure was great (that's a biggy for my husband) and the staff was friendly and accommodating. The Whaler isn't fancy, but it's clean, warm, in a great location and staffed with nice people. Highly recommend The Whaler and we will be back!

Room Tip: Definitely go for an upper level room. Better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricaLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanwood, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed in a King room, it like all the rooms had a great ocean view. It also has a refrigerator, microwave and mini kitchen with china and silver.
The staff here is very friendly and over the four days we stayed this time everything was great. We are looking forward to our next trip to the Oregon coast, when we will spend more time at the Whaler. I have to admit we have stayed here many times so this visit was really no surprise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ralph N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.4 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.2 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whaler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whaler

Property: The Whaler
Address: 155 SW Elizabeth St, Newport, OR 97365-3943
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#8 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whaler offers 73 quiet,spacious, hotel rooms,each with private balcony overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Beautiful heated indoor pool & spa and exercise facility. Easy beach access to one of the most scenic beaches on the Oregon coast. The Whaler is adjacent to the Newport Performing Arts Center, and only a short distance away from Yaquina Bay, the historic Newport bayfront, a variety of restaurants, unique shopping and the Oregon Coast Aquarium. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Whaler Hotel Newport
Whaler Hotel Newport
Whaler Motel Newport
The Whaler Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing