We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kris and Jerry”
Review of The Whaler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Whaler
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have stayed at The Whaler many times over the last twenty years and have always found the rooms clean, the employees friendly, and one of the best views available on the coast. We have without hesitation recommended our friends and family to stay at the Whaler when looking for somewhere to stay at the coast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 425 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012

We spent two nights in late December. I think we were only one of a handful of rooms in the entire hotel. The staff was attentive, the room was clean and simple, the internet connection was great, and for that third floor view and what we paid- it was a steal.

Can't wait to go back. Again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piercedlibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed here in November for two nights. They were running a special, which was great. We make our annual trip to the Oregon Coast every October/November. We have tried many hotels/motels up and down the Oregon Coast and I think we've found our favorite place.

The accommodations are simple, but the motel is very, very clean. Let me stress - very clean. I'm a neat freak and this is the first place where I've not felt I needed to whip out the Clorox wipes.

The view was fantastic. Although it did pour like crazy our entire time on the coast, we had a view that was easy to enjoy from the comfort of our room. The only complaint would be the pillows, but we read in advance that the pillows are very soft, so we brought our own and all was right with the world.

The shower pressure was great (that's a biggy for my husband) and the staff was friendly and accommodating. The Whaler isn't fancy, but it's clean, warm, in a great location and staffed with nice people. Highly recommend The Whaler and we will be back!

Room Tip: Definitely go for an upper level room. Better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EricaLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed in a King room, it like all the rooms had a great ocean view. It also has a refrigerator, microwave and mini kitchen with china and silver.
The staff here is very friendly and over the four days we stayed this time everything was great. We are looking forward to our next trip to the Oregon coast, when we will spend more time at the Whaler. I have to admit we have stayed here many times so this visit was really no surprise.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ralph N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

After being overcharged for minimal accommodations all up and down the coast, it was a pleasure to walk into a huge room with a kitchen, a real, lifesize bath, a fireplace. We watched the whales every morning from our room while we enjoyed their continental breakfast. All of their rooms have an ocean view! The room was extremely clean and spacious.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaun883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Our adult kids needed a trip to the coast. We have stayed before and LOVE The Whaler. They are now fans as well. The hotel is very quite, room was wonderful. Very pet friendly. 7 family members and 5 large dogs, All Had a Great Stay! Very affordable for the location which is very close to the beach. Wonderful! Wonderful trip.

Room Tip: call early, books fast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simpletimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My sister and I got away to the Oregon Coast for a few days staying at The Whaler while we explored the area around Newport. We were very pleased with the accommodations. It was nothing fancy -- just quiet, clean and comfortable which kept the price quite reasonable. We were on the bottom floor and had a wonderful view of the ocean. From our small private deck we were not only able to see the Yaquina Head lighthouse in the distance, but were treated to a view of the gray whales passing by on their way north. The Whaler doesn't have a breakfast room but does have a complimentary breakfast you can take back to your room. There were not a lot of choices, but we were satisfied. They also have hot drinks and hot popcorn ready all day until 10pm.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
Elizabeth Oceanfront Suites
0.4 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
931 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whaler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whaler

Address: 155 SW Elizabeth St, Newport, OR 97365-3943
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#8 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $97 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whaler offers 73 quiet,spacious, hotel rooms,each with private balcony overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Beautiful heated indoor pool & spa and exercise facility. Easy beach access to one of the most scenic beaches on the Oregon coast. The Whaler is adjacent to the Newport Performing Arts Center, and only a short distance away from Yaquina Bay, the historic Newport bayfront, a variety of restaurants, unique shopping and the Oregon Coast Aquarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Whaler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler Hotel Newport
Whaler Hotel Newport
Whaler Motel Newport
The Whaler Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing