We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice place to stay”
Review of The Whaler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Whaler
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2012

What a pleasant surprise! For the lower price, we hadn't expected such a nice room. Everything appeared to be new, and the balcony was delightful. What a lovely view. We will come back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SacramentoCalGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 422 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stay at The Whaler every time we are in Newport, Oregon. Compared to the other ocean front hotels their rates can't be beat! Every room has a balcony with an ocean view. The rooms are large and very clean. They have a continental breakfast that includes bagels, muffins, cereal, and fruit. There is popcorn in the lobby that is free to guests. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend staying here!!

Room Tip: We like the rooms on the third floor at the far north end. The balconies are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eb99kb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hotel is quite old but was very clean. We stayed in a third floor room with a tiny balcony overlooking the Pacific Ocean. The view was fantastic when the fog would lift. Otherwise, you. Old hear the pounding of the surf.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcella101420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed 2 nights on the 11th and 12th of July. Our room was a junior suite on the first floor with a nice view of the ocean and lighthouse. Room was clean and well worth what we paid. Nice hot tub and pool even if the pool was on the chilly side. Most of the hotels on this stretch of road which are the shilo inn, elizabeth inn, etc. do not have balconies like the whaler. Plenty of hot beverages and popcorn in the lobby until 10 at night. The continental breakfast in the morning is not all that great. I have been to many hotels that have alot more to choose from than this one. Muffins and cereal and bagels and one juice and coffee. Would have liked to see maybe some danish and a few more juices to choose from.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ocean5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We have been to the Oregon Coast many times and wanted something other than a condo for this trip. We chose the Whaler because of the reviews and were not disappointed! Our room was on the second floor which gave us a great view of the beach and ocean. The pool and spa were large and well maintained and made for a relaxing experience at the end of the day. The continental breakfast was adequate though not extensive. Juice would have been a nice addition. The front dest staff were very accomodating. Our favorite place to eat at Nye Beach is the Chowder Bowl and James was our favorite waiter.

Room Tip: The second and third floors towards the north end give you a better view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoganBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed at the Whaler for two nights this month. It's a three-story motel-style building across the street from the beach -- all rooms face the beach, and though the balconies were right above the road, lying in bed you can see only ocean. The road between the motel and the beach is not especially busy or noisy, making this a good inexpensive choice, We'd have payed $100 a night more for the "beach-front" hotels across the street.

The furniture and bath were pretty standard, and the room was very clean. (The television in our room was older and the picture fuzzy, but this didn't matter to us.) Our king room had a coffee-maker, refrigerator and microwave. There were no plates, glasses or cutlery in the room, and at first when we called down, the front desk said that our class of room didn't have plates and cutlery, then changed their mind and brought some. I only mention this because it indicates that not all rooms have those amenities. Best to ask when you reserve your room.

The front desk staff were uniformly pleasant and helpful, as were the maids. Everyone had a friendly hello and were ready to help with directions and advice on the town. Breakfast in the lobby (with trays so you could bring it to your room) consisted of sweet muffins, toast, cereal with milk, bagels and cream cheese, apples and bananas, very good Boyd's coffee and tea. (The "juice" was a very sweet beverage from a machine, though.)

The very first thing before checking in, you had to sign a waiver agreeing to pay a $250 for smoking in the room. The room itself was full of signs and notices threatening to evict anyone who was found smoking, without a refund, any time of the day or night. We have never smoked, but did find the extreme tone made the whole atmosphere feel a little less warm and welcoming. Every time you picked up a card that you thought might be about room information or the town's attractions -- it was another dire smoking warning. It became a bit of a standing joke, and will stand out in our memories of the place.

Altogether though nothing fancy, the Whaler was good value for money, clean and well-staffed. We had a great time in Newport, and if we go back and don't want to splurge on one of the fancier places, we'd stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gailfromhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Good clean standard hotel situated on the opposite side of the road to Nye Beach and appropriately priced. I stayed two nights with my wife late June 2012: Friday $109 and Saturday $125 plus tax. This is an un-fussy hotel with good amenities including a swimming pool/fitness room. Breakfast in the lobby is included. My room, facing the ocean, on the third floor was comfortable, clean, not luxurious, but it included a microwave and refrigerator.

The hotel requires guests to sign a form that they promise not to smoke in the rooms or on the balcony. There is a $250 fee imposed should a transgression be made and you would be asked to leave without refund. Warning signs were posted in the room and on the balcony. It did feel as if these warnings were a little too aggressive, although I can only assume they have had bad experiences with smokers.

However, it was not a good experience to have one of the staff - who had just been to our room to deliver some dishes - standing on the gravel path thirty feet below my balcony in the twilight staring up at me as I looked out at the ocean. I suddenly noticed her there staring at me in what I assume was her checking to see if I was smoking; I raised my hands to indicate I wasn’t. As I have never been a smoker, the spying made me feel quite uncomfortable.

A better class of hotel would be a little more subtle!

Apart from this Twilight Zone experience, it was a perfectly nice hotel to stay in for a couple of days.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattlmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
Elizabeth Oceanfront Suites
0.4 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
897 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whaler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whaler

Address: 155 SW Elizabeth St, Newport, OR 97365-3943
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#8 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $97 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whaler offers 73 quiet,spacious, hotel rooms,each with private balcony overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Beautiful heated indoor pool & spa and exercise facility. Easy beach access to one of the most scenic beaches on the Oregon coast. The Whaler is adjacent to the Newport Performing Arts Center, and only a short distance away from Yaquina Bay, the historic Newport bayfront, a variety of restaurants, unique shopping and the Oregon Coast Aquarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Whaler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler Hotel Newport
Whaler Hotel Newport
Whaler Motel Newport
The Whaler Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing