We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view!”
Review of The Whaler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Whaler
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Stayed at the Whaler for a girls only weekend. HUGE beautiful room with 2 queen beds on the third floor. The view was amazing ! Not to mention the hotel is right accross the street from the most beautiful beach. This will be my hotel when visiting Newport from now on.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DreaBend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
There are newer reviews for The Whaler
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 413 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2012

stayed here 12th April visiting from UK. I found this hotel to be very clean , friendly staff and comfortable rooms.The swimming pool and jacuzzi were great with plenty of towels, breakfast was adequate. The views from the balcony would have been amazing but the weather had other ideas !. Large car park, I used the laundry facilities which were handy and easy to use.I would stay here again and would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Newport.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dermot s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Whaler with our 10 month old and it was still amazing. The views are spectacular, we stayed on the 3rd floor & it was worth the extra fee but even from the first floor the views are great.

Fabulous staff, & the rooms were spotless - even under the bed as my 10 month old investigated! ;)

Just a stones throw from beach access and definitely plenty to do nearby.

Would recommend this accommodation in a heartbeat & we will be staying there again on our next mini-staycation.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fastme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Just another fine stay at the Whaler. We come to Newport two or three times a year, and have been staying at the Whaler for years. Everything is always tidy. And the windows are always clean, for nice ocean views.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms have the best ocean views. (The room price goes up $10 per floor.)
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calothamnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Worst weather in years 22 foot waves. All the ships were in port and staying there. Grey Whales were our object, but none were to be seen. Even so we had a great and comfortable stay at The Whaler. Nice rooms. Great view even from the first floor. Reasonable Continental Breakfast. Rented two rooms for two days with my adult children and my grand-dog, a border collie, named Thales. The Whaler was the perfect retreat from the weather and chaos of the storm (and family).

Room Tip: They are all good. Top floor serviced by an elevator. With kids I would want to be close to the po...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juniorthebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

The view was amazing, although I do suggest getting a room on the third floor on the north side. The room was basic as far as decor went, but had everything you need, and was clean. The staff was very nice, and helpful with questions about local attractions. We will defiantly be going back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We spent a night at The Whaler during Spring Break after having first spent a night across the street at The Elizabeth Street Inn. Yes, the ESI might have nicer, more plush décor, but for almost twice the price, I’m not sure if it was worth it (see my review there as well, titled ‘Great, but not perfect hotel’). Like the ESI, The Whaler is ocean front (okay…The Whaler is across the road, but nothing is in front of it so it IS ocean front) so the view is wonderful. The Whaler also has a pool & hot tub which my daughter and her boyfriend used and enjoyed (they didn’t use the workout room). With three floors instead of 4, they had stairs rather than an elevator, but at least there was no waiting for a very slow, packed elevator ride (they may have an elevator for ADA standards...I didn’t see it). The room was clean and bright and had a nice vanity away from the main bedroom area in which to get ready for the day without waking others who were still sleeping. The continental breakfast in the morning was just right – assorted muffins, bagels, breads for toasting as well as toppings for any of those choices. They also had cereal, coffee and juice and some fruit for the taking. With no actual breakfast room (the continental breakfast is served on a well-stocked breakfast bar in the lobby that has popcorn all evening too!), it is assumed you will take your items back to your room, so no one was ‘camping out’ and eating endlessly. It was the perfect start to our last day and began our drive home on a cozy note. The office staff were very kind and welcoming and made our check in and out, a breeze. The Whaler is not as fancy as the ESI across the street, but it has the same amenities (save for the fireplace and chowder). So, if you want a beach front hotel with unobstructed views…..pool/hot tub/exercise room….free breakfast to start your day…and THE MOST COMFORTABLE BEDS(!!!!!!!), then The Whaler is your place for you!!! We will stay again – for sure – can’t wait!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank minnysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,056 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.4 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
0.4 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whaler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whaler

Address: 155 SW Elizabeth St, Newport, OR 97365-3943
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#8 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $140 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whaler offers 73 quiet,spacious, hotel rooms,each with private balcony overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Beautiful heated indoor pool & spa and exercise facility. Easy beach access to one of the most scenic beaches on the Oregon coast. The Whaler is adjacent to the Newport Performing Arts Center, and only a short distance away from Yaquina Bay, the historic Newport bayfront, a variety of restaurants, unique shopping and the Oregon Coast Aquarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Whaler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler Hotel Newport
Whaler Hotel Newport
Whaler Motel Newport
The Whaler Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing