We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Place to Visit”

Yaquina Bay Lighthouse
Ranked #4 of 48 things to do in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nineteenth-century lighthouse is one of a few on the Pacific coast that was built with the light-keeper's quarters in the same building.
Wilsonville, Oregon, United States
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Interesting Place to Visit”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very nice scenic stop, well worth seeing. Awesom view of ocean. Great place to take pictures. Awesom during a winter storm!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rbaird_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    212
    60
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great history lesson”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I would highly recommend the Lighthouse tour. It is amazing to hear how the lighthouse was built, how it was staff, and how much maintenance it took to keep it up. I really enjoyed going up the staircase to the top to see everything. So much history and how important it was to shipping, an era gone by but important to understand.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York, United States
2 reviews
“Nice day trip from Newport OR.”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We visited this lighthouse back in January of 1996. Fun day trip. Bring a camera along. It's been so long though it's tough to remember.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Make sure your child's tall enough”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The lighthouse was really neat, but my 3.5 yr old wasn't tall enough to go to the top, children have to be 46 inches tall, he was really bummed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lighthouse fanatic”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I wrote a review for Yaquina Head Outstanding Natural area, which I am not sure if that is the area around the lighthouse. It has several trails and good views for watching seabirds and whale migration. Binoculars are highly useful! There are coin operated telescopes, but we didn't have any coins. The interpretive panels are very interesting and informative about the area and the history of lighthouse keepers and their families.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank McTundra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yaquina Bay Lighthouse also viewed

 
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Yaquina Bay Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing