We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worth the $7”

Yaquina Head Outstanding Natural Area
Ranked #1 of 47 things to do in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: From exploring tide pools teeming with life to witnessing Oregon's tallest lighthouse, there is something for every visitor at Yaquina Head. Yaquina Head Outstanding Natural Area extends out from the Oregon coast, one mile into the Pacific Ocean. Standing 93 feet tall at the westernmost point of the basalt headland, the lighthouse has been a bright beacon of the night, guiding ships and their supplies along the west coast since the light was first lit on August 20, 1873. The offshore islands are a year-round refuge for harbor seals and a spring-summer home for thousands of nesting seabirds. Gray whales can be spotted during their annual migrations to Mexico (late fall-early winter) and Alaska (late winter-early spring). During the summer months some gray whales take the opportunity to feed in the shallow waters around the headland. Cobble Beach is compiled of millions of round basalt rocks that produce an applause-like sound as the waves roll in. When the tide is low a vibrant ocean floor is revealed—pools of colorful animals including orange sea stars, purple sea urchins, and giant green anemones. Rangers are at hand to answer questions and point out all of the amazing plants and animals that call the tide pools home. Visit the Interpretive Center and discover 140 years of lighthouse history and thousands of years of natural and cultural history. Friends of Yaquina Lighthouses, a non-profit organization, offers site-related books, maps, and postcards in their interpretive store. Whether you want to see raging winter storms batter the Oregon coast, learn about the role lighthouses played in the westward expansion of the United States, or watch peregrine falcons at play, visit Yaquina Head Outstanding Natural Area and experience something wild.
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“worth the $7”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Its $7 for a 3 day pass and well worth it. You can go tide pooling and there is a ranger to help you and keep you safe. Sign up for the tour of the light house. There in costume and talk about the history of the light house and have you climb the stairs . there's a lot so be prepared.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank montanagirl1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,034
    318
    56
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“It looks pretty cool from 2.2 miles away...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

My wife and I planned to visit the Yaquina Head Lighthouse on October 1, 2013, after the remains of Typhoon Pabuk finally blew away. When we arrived, we found the entrance gate locked, and "DO NOT ENTER" signs posted in several places. It turns out that the US Bureau of Land management (BLM) operates the lighthouse, and as of that morning, the BLM was furloughed due to the Government shutdown of 2013. After cussing a lot, and griping with some other visitors who were visiting from overseas, we stopped wasting time and looked for a place to view the lighthouse from afar. It is not visible from where we were due to high ground between the entrance and the lighthouse. The park grounds are quite extensive for just a small lighthouse, and we would have had to walk more than a half-mile (each way) down the park road just to reach a point where we could see the lighthouse. Plus we would have risked arrest. I felt confident that the law enforcement guys were “essential” and were not furloughed. So we drove back into Newport looking for a good viewpoint. We could have driven north and viewed it from about a mile away, but the sun would have been in our faces, so we drove south. We found a spot that offered a great view, albeit more than 2 miles away. For anyone interested, the viewpoint was near 1245 NW Spring Street, just north of the junction with NW 12th Street, about 0.3 mile south of US 101. With my 640 mm lens, I took some decent photos, but we were still disappointed that we couldn’t tour the lighthouse.

The lighthouse might rate higher than 3 stars on Tripadvisor, but I have no way of knowing since we couldn’t get closer than 2.2 miles away.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 275GTB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for birdwatching”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Great place for watching birds or whales. We saw a peregrine falcon on the rocks, catching some sun and probably catching his dinner too. We didn't get to the tide pools this time - the wind was too strong and we weren't dressed for it. Spend the time to take the lighthouse tour - I always learn something.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Guidosmom2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to explore!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Although not fabulous for toddlers, we survived! I enjoyed the view while chasing my child. For older kids (old enough to listen and follow directions) tons of fun to explore! Worth the $7 to get into the park!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
181 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Something for Everyone Here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We were rushed for time so unable to enjoy the tide pools and bird watching this trip, but we did enjoy the lighthouse and Interpretive Center. Interesting that Oregon's tallest (this lighthouse) and shortest (Cape Meares) lighthouses are just a couple hours distance apart. The Interpretive Center was so well done - one of the best. Easy to get to and only a short distance off US 101.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SoCalMare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yaquina Head Outstanding Natural Area also viewed

 
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Yaquina Head Outstanding Natural Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing