We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walkable and interesting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nye Beach

Nye Beach
Ranked #6 of 47 things to do in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic beach along the Oregon Coast that has been a favorite recreational area for more than 100 years.
Tualatin, Oregon
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Walkable and interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

It is an enjoyable walk, with many hotels and houses sitting just above on the cliffs. Do watch for the one detraction: the sewer water "river" running down the beach at Beach Drive.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank ukscots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    228
    67
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Decent little shopping area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

There are a few special shops that don't fall into the normal touristy category. We always come down here for a little while when we visit this area. There are some decent restaurants as well, April's being one of the better ones.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikeferd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“old historic district”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

i love this area... they have shops and restraunts and bars.. there is a great variety of all of these in this area.. it was the old historic nye beach area that has been revamped and turned into a nice hip tourist area, but still has the feel of the old historic era.. worth a visit...

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank cher98115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodburn, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, Clean, Easy Beach Access”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

I love Nye Beach!!! The shops are incredible!! The restaurants are very good! And the public restrooms are always very clean!! There's even free parking which is always a plus!! And easy access to the beach make this an absolute must!!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank krthumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duvall, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A few neat shops with potential when it matures”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

There are a few cute little shops here but we expected more after seeing it mentioned everywhere, When the area matures more and gets more shops and especially, restaurants, it will be a neat place to return but we'll give it a year or 3 before we come back.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Desdemona99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nye Beach also viewed

 

Been to Nye Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing