We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chuck's place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Newport
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chuck's place”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Chuck, the hotel manager, takes pride and ownership of his facility and strives to make everyone's visit a positive experience. We arrived during a remodel and were given a manager's rate which beat all previous quotes from the Choice Hotels web site. Comfortable beds but our room was somewhat cramped with a table and two chairs, king sized bed, armoire, dresser, refrigerator, micro, and coffee maker. Counter space around bathroom sink was expansive. Comp breakfast is a nice touch. Property is in Nye Beach area and within walking distance to the bay front if that is your cup of tea. This is our property of choice if we want to stay in Newport. Hotel should have a new façade and lobby soon. In addition they are adding a/c to all the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the south (street) side of the building as they offer a bit more space to move arou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn1, General Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review for our Comfort Inn Newport. Every member on our staff is trained to understand guest service and the importance of keepingf our guests happy. We are in fact doing a major remodel and the changes to our building and our guest comfort will be amazing. We cant wait to show off the new exterior, The A/C for the rooms and our new bedding package. Please do come see us agin, we appreciate it.
Chuck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    149
    43
    17
    10
See reviews for
100
132
27
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night here for our last night on the coast and were very satisfied with this hotel. We used our Choice Privileges rewards points and were able to choose a larger room for no additional cost which was very nice. We also had cookies and water bottles waiting for us with a note from the manager welcoming us. Our room was on the southeast corner on the ground floor and we did not have any trouble with noise. There is no air conditioning but it was a cool day and we didn't even feel the need to open the windows. The bed was comfortable and the cable had plenty of channels. My only complaint is the shower would randomly get ice cold and then go back to hot. Maybe someone flushed a toilet.

Breakfast was a very good continental style one with make your own waffles, eggs, sausage, cereal, yogurt, etc. The hotel is near the beach but we didn't get a chance to check it out as we were in town to meet up with my aunt and uncle from Seattle and went to the Hatfield Marine Science Center and the Oregon Coast Aquarium. It is also just off Hwy 101 so plenty of restaurants close by.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WtrflGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn1, General Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you so much for posting your kind review of our Comfort Inn in Newport Oregon. We are really glad you stayed with us and hope that you will return for another visit in the very near future. The hotel is undergoing a big remodel job and we really want to show it off after completion. Thank you again for staying with us.
Chuck Cummings
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Your breakfast waitress is called Deborah and she is the floor show to wake you up at breakfast with witty one liners and funny comments she works hard so don't forget to tip her . The hotel is clean and tidy great price with breakfast and laughs , well located close to beach and with easy reach of bars and shops . Loads of free parking .

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank paxton7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn1, General Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you very much for youtr comments. We get a lot of compliments about Debra and we are glad that you liked her too. We do hope that you come back and stay with us again. We appreciate you and Debra says thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Booked this hotel through priceline on our drive through the coast. Checked in when was it dark so didn't get to see the surrounding beach or area. Front desk guy that night seemed like he had a long day. Nice sized bed but the pillows were mini. Kinda funny. The room was fine overall but the one thing was the wall paper peeling off the wall. I understand little areas here and there from just over time but this was full panels coming away from the wall. It was obvious so a little fix it will go a long way. Checked out early but had the breakfast. Could smell the bacon in our room but found no bacon at breakfast....but I made my own waffles! Fine for a comp breakfast. Pretty average for the price and what was expected.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blondee604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn1, General Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for writing your review for the Comfort Inn Newport. Our guest views are so very important to our business and we are so sorry that you were less than satisfied with our service, the quality of our rooms , or the Breakfast that we offered. Every single person on our staff works very hard to keep our guests happy and we are so sorry that we failed in every aspect of your stay. On a positive note we are completely remodeling our building and adding in air conditioning to every room and we are also redoing our bedding package with new triple sheeting and blankets. We only hope that you will consider giving us another try should you have the opportunity to visit the Oregon coast in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is lower priced hotel so you can't expect a lot, but based on the reviews I was hoping for more. The building is cheaply constructed so noise travels between rooms. We were awakened at 5 am when our neighbor showered, could hear him snoring at night. Our room was on the 3rd floor in the back and there were several guests leaving between 5:30-6 am who let their diesel trucks idle in the parking lot resulting in a lot of noise when you want to be sleeping. Since there is no AC, you can't sleep with the windows closed.
The breakfast was on the lower end of the typical hotel breakfasts. Generic brand of instant oats, poor coffee.
If I am in Newport again, I will spend more $ and try another hotel.

Room Tip: Back is noisy but front rooms may be warm with afternoon sun.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Crowhollow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn1, Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for posting your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. All of our guest reviews are read by the management of the hotel and passed on to the owners and staff. We are in the process of upgrading our hotel including A/C in the rooms. We are so sorry that you thought our breakfast wasnt great. we try to make it much better than most franchise hotels with an extra touch of service that most of our guests seem to love. Once again your comments are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia City IN
Level Contributor
183 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have stayed in many Comfort Inns and Suites and this is the first time we had warm cookies and bottles of water in our room when we arrived because we were Choice Rewards Members. The rooms were older, but very clean and a comfortable bed. Only about 2 minutes from the beach! The breakfast was the usual complimentary breakfast fare, but at least it was a free breakfast (and not all hotels give that). The staff was so friendly and helpful. Newport is a great town to visit also.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn1, General Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for posting your kind comments about your recent stay at the Comfort Inn Newport. Our guests are the most important part of our business and your nice comments will be shared with our staff. We really hope that you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
298 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Exterior promising.....lobby okay. Check-in not really friendly (Carl). We were not welcomed as Choice Privilege Members but were given top (3rd) floor as requested. Cookies served from 5pm til gone. When we walked into our room around 3pm there was a bag with 2 "fresh" (not) cookies and 2 bottles of water. Bed comfortable as were pillows. ALSO, since no a/c at this hotel, there was a box fan in the closet!! YEAH!!! That made my husband smile. The bathroom had the initial look of a renovation, but closer look only 50% done. Small (really small!) granite counter top; decent toilet. TUB ANOTHER MATTER. The wallpaper around the shower surround needed to be removed; they had actually CAULKED in the corners and a LOT of caulking, I might add! Linens OLD and in need of replacing. So-so toiletry amenities (the Vaseline lotion smells like bug spray), however there was a complimentary shower cap! I SMILED. Breakfast? Skip it and go to McD's or some restaurant. Nasty. Do not think I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for an EVEN NUMBERED room. It faces the ocean. We had 301 and had a view of a "not so nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn1, General Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for writing your review for the Comfort Inn Newport. Our guest views are so very important to our business and we are so sorry that you were less than satisfied with our service, the quality of our rooms , or the Breakfast that we offered. Every single person on our staff works very hard to keep our guests happy and we are so sorry that we failed in every aspect of your stay. On a positive note we are completely remodeling our building and adding in air conditioning to every room and we are also redoing our bedding package with new triple sheeting and blankets. We only hope that you will consider giving us another try should you have the opportunity to visit the Oregon coast in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
0.1 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
0.6 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
789 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Newport

Property: Comfort Inn Newport
Address: 531 SW Fall St, Newport, OR 97365-5030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Newport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Newport Hotel Newport
Newport Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing