We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stopping Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Newport
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
319 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great Stopping Spot”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at this motel June 04-06, 2013. It was in a good location, and we could not have been happier with the room. We very much enjoyed walking to along the wharf and eating at the nearby Rogue Brewery.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn1, General Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments about the Comfort Inn Newport. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and it is our sincere desire that you will stay with us again.
Sincerely
Chuck Cummings
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    150
    43
    18
    10
See reviews for
100
135
27
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I spent two days visiting the Oregon Coast and stayed at the Comfort Inn in Newport, just a half a block and 80 steps down to the beach. It was a very pleasant stay. I grew up in the business, and I have rarely experienced such a helpful, friendly, and professional staff. The breakfast was also one of the best we have experienced over the years of weekend get-aways. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: The next time we go we'll request a room facing the street rather than the parking lot, as a hug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn1, General Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind remarks about our Comfort Inn Newport, Our guests are the most important part of our business and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We have passed your comments on to our staff and we look forward to serving you again.
Chuck Cummings
General Manager
Comfort Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I regret to say that we did not have a good experience at this property, and most of the trouble stemmed from the fact that it is not air conditioned. It always baffles me that people in some locations, such as the Oregon coast, insist that they don't need A/C. They DO. Maybe some residents in their private homes choose not to have it, fine for them. But for a "nice" hotel not to provide this basic modern convenience just doesn't make sense. We were aware, however, that many hotels on the coast do not provide climate control, and so did some careful research, we THOUGHT. I checked on the Choice hotels app and indeed, some room categories at this hotel are designated as having no A/C. The suites and handicapped rooms, however, had no such indications, and so I called Choice central reservations for clarification. The phone agent did some checking, and told me that the suites and handicapped rooms did have A/C, and so I booked a handicapped room, even though that wasn't really what we wanted. Upon arrival, however, the none-too-friendly desk clerk at 1am on August 18/19 said, "Oh, no. There's no way they told you that. There is no A/C in any of our rooms. We don't need it." Basically, then, she implied we were lying. I had the feeling that we had maybe interrupted her in some way, as she didn't seem happy to see us, and I was quite dismayed to find that there was no A/C after all, but as it was so late, we were pretty much stuck. So we asked to see the room, and I do have to say it was clean and attractive, and there was no evidence of any bedbugs. We are frequent travelers who have learned the hard way that you MUST check every room for these nasty pests, no matter how nice or expensive the property may be. The clerk seemed offended that we checked for this, assuring us that they did not have bedbugs, and made it a point to inform us that she had to straighten the sheets after us. We made a point to leave the bed as we found it. We did change from this first floor room to a regular room on the second floor, though, as we didn't want to be at parking lot level knowing that we would have to leave the window open all night. The clerk assured us that there are no crime problems in Newport, and that this was unnecessary. Although we didn't argue the point, isn't it just possible that some evildoer from another place where evildoers live, might be visiting Newport and recognize an easy mark? Anyway, the new room looked fine, but when we opened the window, we found that we were STILL at parking lot level even on the second floor at the back of the hotel. So we called the desk clerk again, who told us there were no other rooms available. We asked about the third floor, (the parking lot wasn't that crowded) and she told us that those rooms "weren't very nice". Okay, then. We gave up and decided to just tough it out. Our room was hot and stuffy, and the fan provided did little to improve things, but without it, it would have been unbearable. Needless to say, we slept very poorly. We were uncomfortable and worried about having only a screen between us and the outside of our ground level room, as someone could have easily crawled in from outside. At dawn, about 5:30 am, the light came streaming in, and there was nothing we could do about it. We couldn't draw the blackout drapes as the room was already hot and airless despite having the fan in the window. Sleeping in the buff was out, too, as people in the parking lot outside our window could easily see in our room. Since the window was open, we could hear every car door slam and conversation from people outside. Comfort Inn is supposed to be a moderately priced chain, but this room wasn't cheap. I understand that this was high season at the coast, but this property isn't beachfront, and when you add in the very uncomfortable, unsecure conditions and the snippy clerk, we were robbed!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn1, General Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are so sorry for any problems that were created because of our not having air conditioning available when you were here. We are in the process of updating our building and A/C is on the top of the priority list. We only hope that you will consider coming back to see us after our remodel is complete, We really think you will like what you see.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BALTIMORE
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The 4 stars is relative to the price. Obviously, you could pay double and get better. Great staff from the manager to the housekeeper. Well appointed for the price. Very near the beach, with some rooms with partial views. But the internet can be flaky, often cutting out. Usually not enough for a video.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WALTER S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn1, General Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you so much for posting your review of our hotel. It is through the eyes of our guests that we are able to best determine the needs of our hotel. We have just put in a now internet service in our hotel and I hope that you will give us a return visit so we can show you how well it is working.
Thanks again
Chuck Cummings
General Manager
Comfort Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is a great hotel for a stopover in Newport. It is not a destination resort by any means, but the room was clean and comfortable and we even had a glimpse of the ocean from our window. Close to all the things to do and see in Newport. Friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia16N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn1, Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your stay with us and would love to have you come back again. The entire staff at the Comfort Inn works very hard to keep our guests happy.
thanks again
Chuck Cummings
General Manager
Comfort Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We did stay on a weekend in peak season but I still thought this was over priced. The rooms are dark and dingy and our sheet on the bed had rips on it. Our room also had a bad sickly smell mixed with disinfectant. Pillows and bed were not comfortable. On the positives complimentary cookies and water were good, room was clean and staff were friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njg8373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn1, Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for posting your review of our Comfort Inn in Newport Oregon, Our guest revies are our best source of information regarding our hotel and the way we operate it. We would like to apologize for your room condition and would like to assure you that this will not happen again at our hotel. Your comfort and well being mean eveything to us and we are so sorry that we failed this in any way. It is our sincere desire that you give us another try to see just how nice the Comfort Inn can be.
Sincerely
Chuck Cummings
General Manager
Comfort inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed 1 night July 3rd and price was higher end for Comfort Inn as it’s peak tourist season in Oregon coast. Hotel seems to be fairly new. Room was clean and WIFI connection was good. Hotel had better then usual Comfort Inn breakfast selection and staff were friendly specially lady working on breakfast room. Only thing I didn’t like was bathroom which was real small space. I also noticed show head was low. It wasn’t problem for us but if you are around 6 feet tall, it will be issue for you.
I would stay here again during off season when price is cheaper as all Oregon coast hotel price is high during summer months.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sabaya83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn1, General Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you so much for posting your review of our Comfort Inn. The entire staff at the Comfort Inn works very hard to make every ones stay a comfortable one. We are so happy that you were happy with your stay and passed your comments on to the staff and ownership of the hotel. We are constantly making changes to improve our quality and hope that you will stay with us again.

Sincerely
Chuck Cummings
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
0.1 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
0.6 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Newport

Property: Comfort Inn Newport
Address: 531 SW Fall St, Newport, OR 97365-5030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Newport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Newport Hotel Newport
Newport Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing