We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, iffy internet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Newport
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
BALTIMORE
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great value, iffy internet”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The 4 stars is relative to the price. Obviously, you could pay double and get better. Great staff from the manager to the housekeeper. Well appointed for the price. Very near the beach, with some rooms with partial views. But the internet can be flaky, often cutting out. Usually not enough for a video.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WALTER S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn1, General Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you so much for posting your review of our hotel. It is through the eyes of our guests that we are able to best determine the needs of our hotel. We have just put in a now internet service in our hotel and I hope that you will give us a return visit so we can show you how well it is working.
Thanks again
Chuck Cummings
General Manager
Comfort Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    152
    44
    18
    11
See reviews for
100
138
27
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beavercreek, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is a great hotel for a stopover in Newport. It is not a destination resort by any means, but the room was clean and comfortable and we even had a glimpse of the ocean from our window. Close to all the things to do and see in Newport. Friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia16N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn1, Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your stay with us and would love to have you come back again. The entire staff at the Comfort Inn works very hard to keep our guests happy.
thanks again
Chuck Cummings
General Manager
Comfort Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We did stay on a weekend in peak season but I still thought this was over priced. The rooms are dark and dingy and our sheet on the bed had rips on it. Our room also had a bad sickly smell mixed with disinfectant. Pillows and bed were not comfortable. On the positives complimentary cookies and water were good, room was clean and staff were friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njg8373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn1, Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for posting your review of our Comfort Inn in Newport Oregon, Our guest revies are our best source of information regarding our hotel and the way we operate it. We would like to apologize for your room condition and would like to assure you that this will not happen again at our hotel. Your comfort and well being mean eveything to us and we are so sorry that we failed this in any way. It is our sincere desire that you give us another try to see just how nice the Comfort Inn can be.
Sincerely
Chuck Cummings
General Manager
Comfort inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed 1 night July 3rd and price was higher end for Comfort Inn as it’s peak tourist season in Oregon coast. Hotel seems to be fairly new. Room was clean and WIFI connection was good. Hotel had better then usual Comfort Inn breakfast selection and staff were friendly specially lady working on breakfast room. Only thing I didn’t like was bathroom which was real small space. I also noticed show head was low. It wasn’t problem for us but if you are around 6 feet tall, it will be issue for you.
I would stay here again during off season when price is cheaper as all Oregon coast hotel price is high during summer months.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sabaya83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn1, General Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you so much for posting your review of our Comfort Inn. The entire staff at the Comfort Inn works very hard to make every ones stay a comfortable one. We are so happy that you were happy with your stay and passed your comments on to the staff and ownership of the hotel. We are constantly making changes to improve our quality and hope that you will stay with us again.

Sincerely
Chuck Cummings
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
171 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Loved this hotel! Located within walking distance of Nye Beach and all the little shops and oceanfront. In a quiet neighborhood, tucked away from any hustle and bustle. The front desk staff were amazingly friendly and helpful with local sites! They let me back in our room without question after we checked out, to look for a lost camera which I later found in the console of my car. =) Quiet stay, comfortable beds, and we got a partial ocean view…we could barely see it but we could crack open the window and hear it. Within walking distance, just across the street and you could be at the Oceanside. Can’t comment on the breakfast as we went elsewhere. Try Georgie’s on the Beach for dinner…we had to wait a bit for a table but it was worth it…very good food! See my review for that location here on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CONatureGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn1, General Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind review for our Newport Comfort Inn, The entire staff works very hard to make sure your stay is a comfortable one. Your comments have been shared with our owners and staff and it is our sincere desire that you will come back again.
Sincerely
Chuck Cummings
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Pulled up and thought the location was great, appearance was nice on the outside and in the lobby. Clerk was friendly and check was a beeze. Got the the room, 326 if you are reading this, and IMMEDIATELY smelled vomit. I pulled the bed covers off and found a layer of towels between the sheets and the bed. Odd, but not the source of the smell. Went so far as to get on my hands and knees and sniff the carpet (sick)! Found a Glade plugin with a scent almost as bad as the vomit behind the nightstand, so I pulled it away from the wall and found a giant patch of carpet which had been covered in baking soda or some form of odor absorbent powder. I went back down to the desk, explained the situation and was given the only available room, which meant I now got to sleep on a hide a bed....I am paying to sleep on a hide a bed because my room smelled like VOMIT. No apology for the issue, the desk clerks only response was "we dont communicate with housekeeping" Got to the replacement room, which was thankfully absent of funky smells and/or dizzying fake air fresheners, pulled out the sofa bed and, NO SHEETS. No sheets on the bed, in the drawers or the closets. Called the front desk again and got sheets, but supposedly there were no blankets or extra pillows available. Seriously? !?!? I was annoyed by the fact they obviously were aware of the odor because they tried to cover it up and by the fact that not a single ounce of apology was offered. And I type the fromt the sofa bed while the frame digs into my back. Oh and did I mention the woman who was the lobby while i was at the desk filing,my compliant? She pulled me aside to say it wasnt just me, they had a "very dirty blanket" and "housekeeping must be out on vacation."I.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank landm705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn1, General Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Comfort Inn In Newport Oregon. We are so sorry that we have failed to meet your expectations and have torn apart the room you were in to find the source of the problem. It is always our intention to keep all of our guests happy and provide clean comfortable accommodations. We have failed to do so and you have our deepest apologies and we hope that you will consider giving us another chance to make it right
Sincerely
Chuck Cummings
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
566 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Walk to Bayfront and its many restaurants, Nye Beach and Deco District. Medium size room with lots of furniture. Nice welcome. Cookies in the evening. Breakfast in an extra large room, with selection of meats, eggs with the yolk, blueberry pancakes, etc. No air conditioning (probably seldom required) but you can open the windows and a fan is provided.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sycha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn1, General Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for posting your review of our Comfort Inn in Newport Oregon, We appreciate your comments and will use these comments to help encourage our staff to strive to keep our guests happy. We are so glad that you enjoyed our breakfast as it was created to start your day right. Please do come back and see us again.
Sincerely
Chuck Cummings
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
0.1 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Newport

Property: Comfort Inn Newport
Address: 531 SW Fall St, Newport, OR 97365-5030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Newport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Newport Hotel Newport
Newport Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing