We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My room smelled like vomit. 'Nuf said.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Newport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Comfort Inn Newport
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My room smelled like vomit. 'Nuf said.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Pulled up and thought the location was great, appearance was nice on the outside and in the lobby. Clerk was friendly and check was a beeze. Got the the room, 326 if you are reading this, and IMMEDIATELY smelled vomit. I pulled the bed covers off and found a layer of towels between the sheets and the bed. Odd, but not the source of the smell. Went so far as to get on my hands and knees and sniff the carpet (sick)! Found a Glade plugin with a scent almost as bad as the vomit behind the nightstand, so I pulled it away from the wall and found a giant patch of carpet which had been covered in baking soda or some form of odor absorbent powder. I went back down to the desk, explained the situation and was given the only available room, which meant I now got to sleep on a hide a bed....I am paying to sleep on a hide a bed because my room smelled like VOMIT. No apology for the issue, the desk clerks only response was "we dont communicate with housekeeping" Got to the replacement room, which was thankfully absent of funky smells and/or dizzying fake air fresheners, pulled out the sofa bed and, NO SHEETS. No sheets on the bed, in the drawers or the closets. Called the front desk again and got sheets, but supposedly there were no blankets or extra pillows available. Seriously? !?!? I was annoyed by the fact they obviously were aware of the odor because they tried to cover it up and by the fact that not a single ounce of apology was offered. And I type the fromt the sofa bed while the frame digs into my back. Oh and did I mention the woman who was the lobby while i was at the desk filing,my compliant? She pulled me aside to say it wasnt just me, they had a "very dirty blanket" and "housekeeping must be out on vacation."I.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank landm705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn1, General Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Comfort Inn In Newport Oregon. We are so sorry that we have failed to meet your expectations and have torn apart the room you were in to find the source of the problem. It is always our intention to keep all of our guests happy and provide clean comfortable accommodations. We have failed to do so and you have our deepest apologies and we hope that you will consider giving us another chance to make it right
Sincerely
Chuck Cummings
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    148
    43
    17
    10
See reviews for
99
130
27
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
526 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Walk to Bayfront and its many restaurants, Nye Beach and Deco District. Medium size room with lots of furniture. Nice welcome. Cookies in the evening. Breakfast in an extra large room, with selection of meats, eggs with the yolk, blueberry pancakes, etc. No air conditioning (probably seldom required) but you can open the windows and a fan is provided.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sycha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn1, General Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for posting your review of our Comfort Inn in Newport Oregon, We appreciate your comments and will use these comments to help encourage our staff to strive to keep our guests happy. We are so glad that you enjoyed our breakfast as it was created to start your day right. Please do come back and see us again.
Sincerely
Chuck Cummings
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
293 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We've stayed in this hotel twice in the past 9 months and have found it to be really good value for money. It is in a quiet location (aside from a bit of noise sometimes from other rooms), the rooms are a decent size and it is clean (with the exception of the windows which I commented on in a previous review). The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. There is a good choice of food for breakfast and it is convenient to area attractions. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aldergreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn1, General Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Comfort Inn in Newport Oregon. Our guests view of our hotel is the most important aspect of our business and we use these reviews to better train our staff and make other improvements throughout our hotel. Please do come back and see us and see what changes are in store for this year.
Sincerely
Chuck Cummings
General Manager
Comfort Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

See my review last June, 2012. I again stayed here for 4 nights while attending an art retreat I come to every year. This would always be my first choice of a place to stay in Newport, and I've stayed at many motels here. It's not "right on the beach"...but a block away, and there is no pool; but the staff, service, and wonderfully comfortable beds keep me coming back each year! I've never been disturbed by noise, and the breakfast is great...they keep improving it every year! I like the rooms on the 2nd floor, as they are convenient to access from the back parking lot. See you again in 2014!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fc646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn1, General Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind words on your review of the Comfort Inn Newport, We value our guests opinions and use your comments to help better train our staff and make improvements in our hotel. We love to be your annual retreat and look forward to seeing you next year.
Thank you again
Chuck Cummings
General Manager
Comfort Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Picked this hotel due to location and a Choice Hotel promotion going on. Was very pleased. The hotel is older, but clean. The water from shower next door pretty loud the next morning. Comfortable beds. Great price. The strawberry waffles at breakfast were pretty neat. When we asked about a good local seafood place they recommended Local Ocean, which we REALLY enjoyed. The hotel also had 3 types of cookies at the front desk. That is such a small thing, but really left a positive impression. I will give any hotel extra points for good chocolate chip cookies!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CFW921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn1, General Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Comfort Inn. We appreciate your comments and will use them for further training of our staff. We hope that you will consider the Comfort Inn for any future need you may have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was a nice place to stay. The beach is only about two blocks away from the motel. The staff were very helpful and very friendly. They had great ideas for things to do while in the area. The room was clean and very nice. The breakfast was great with many food choices! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlendaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn1, General Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Your comments are greatly appreciated and the entire staff at the Comfort Inn work very hard to impress our guests. We are constantly making changes in our hotel and hope that you will return this year to find out what we are doing next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arkansas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and what a good decision it was. The bed was extremely comfortable and the late afternoon cookies were a nice touch. You can't beat this place for the location and value. Breakfast is great (included). They offer biscuits and gravy, eggs, bacon, waffles, yogurts and oatmeals, several juices and of course coffee. Very friendly staff and just steps away from the Nye Beach.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amdav68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn1, General Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
It is so nice that you were happy with your stay at the Comfort Inn Newport. The entire staff works very hard to make a positive impression on our guests and their reward is your comments on Trip Advisor. Please do come and stay with us again, we really appreciate the business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
0.2 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Newport

Property: Comfort Inn Newport
Address: 531 SW Fall St, Newport, OR 97365-5030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Newport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Newport Hotel Newport
Newport Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing