We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn Newport
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed one night. (August 18) It was difficult to find a hotel in Newport since there were a lot of people in town. The folks at the front desk are very nice and helpful. The room I stayed in was very clean and the room was comfortable. When I got to the room, I could not find the remote control and had to call the front desk for assistance. It was no where to be found. The employee from the front desk found the remote control under the bed. Go figure. The television did not function, so once again I had to call the front desk. Help arrived promptly. On major complaint that I have is that the room does not have air conditioning. The room was hot and stuffy. All that was available was a portable fan that was very loud. It was as if there was an airplane in the room I realize that I stayed there during tourist season and because of this and the hotel's proximity to the beach and other attractions, the price for one night's stay is high, but it's not worth it because there is no AC.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigMexicofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn1, General Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you for posting your review for the Comfort Inn Newport. We were so glad that you chose our hotel for your lodging needs. Please be aware that only two of the thirty three hotels in Newport offer air conditioning and that you will pay a lot more money for an amenity that is not usually needed on the coast. We are very sorry about the issues you had with your television and are happy the Guest Service associate was able to get you fixed up. Please do keep us in mind for a future visit to the Oregon coast. We look forward to serving you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 369 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

The staff was very friendly and courteous. Rooms clean. The morning breakfast saved us enough money to do an additional attraction on the bay. This is our second time at this hotel and I would suggest it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimC565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn1, General Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Thank you for your review of the Comfort Inn Newport, Your kind words and the fact that you have stayed with us on more than one occasion means the world to us. Everyone on our staff from the Guest Service agents to the owners of the hotel would like to pass on our thanks for your wonderful comments and we sincerely hope that you will stay with us again.
Sincerely
Chuck Cummings
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We visited this hotel over our anniversary weekend, Aug. 10-13th, 2012. This is a great place to stay. The room was very nice, newly redecorated/remodeled. The room was clean, but the windows haven't been washed in quite a while!
The staff was very nice & friendly-very helpful. The breakfast was pretty much standard items, with hot eggs, bacon & sausage. They worked hard to keep everything replenished, including the coffee.
We got a room on the top floor (3 stories) as requested. The microwave & fridge were so handy! We stayed for 3 nights & were very pleased with our stay.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front side of the hotel might have less noise from cars/guests arriving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cherrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn1, General Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Thank you for your recent review of the Comfort Inn Newport, We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the entire staff was pleased with your review of our property. We were so happy that you enjoyed your time in Newport and that we added to your time spent. I would peronally like to thank for staying with us and really hope that you will consider us the next time you visit the Lincoln County area.
Sincerely
Chuck Cummings
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed one night because we had an early fishing trip the next morning.

The place was clean but not particularly attractive (or unattractive). Room size and bathroom were a smidge smaller than I expected. Our room had a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, and a big new tv. Bed and pillows were comfy.

They have a free breakfast in the morning (in a windowless room), it was your typical hotel free breakfast with eggs from a mix, do it yourself waffle machines, etc.

Staff was fast and friendly.

Overall, this places was utterly average and unexceptional.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sashazur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn1, General Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Thank you for posting your review for the Comfort Inn Newport, The entire staff and the owners are constantly striving to make our property the best choice for travelers such as yourself and we are all very sorry that nothing in the hotel stood out as great in your eyes. Please do give us another chance to try and impress you should you ever have a reason to stay in Newport again, We would really aprreciate the chance to WOW you.
Sincerely
Chuck Cummings
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

As other reviewers have stated, this Comfort Inn seems to be a bit above average. Although we could only stay for one night, we enjoyed the close proximity to the beach (no more than a block away). The gals behind the desk were super in answering our questions and making suggestions on where to eat. We have stayed at other properties in the past that were also very nice, but the location and service here do give it the edge.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank golfsierra47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn1, General Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Thank you for posting your review about the Comfort Inn Newport. Your remarks go a long way in helping us to run our business and your remarks are shared with the entire staff. If you are ever visiting the Newport area we would be honered to have you stay at our hotel again.
Sincerely
Chuck Cummings
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was spotless and the beds were very comfortable! That's saying a lot because I have a bad back and I don't like most hotel beds. The complimentary breakfast was the best I've had and I travel 50-75 nights per year on business.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honguy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn1, General Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful comments you posted on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at the Comfort Inn Newport, Every member of our staff will go above and beyond to make sure your stay is comfortable. Your high marks will go a long way in helping us make the Comfort Inn the number one choice for savvy travelers like yourself. Please do come back and see us again.
Sincerely
Chuck Cummings
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed at the Comfort Inn in Newport for 3 nights on business in early July.

After looking at most of the other options in town (price - location - reviews) it seemed to fit the bill for me and I was not at all disappointed.

Location is a block from the sea, 8mins (nice) walk to Nye Beach and prob 15mins from the historic harbour. Clea, typical rooms with flat screen TV. No aircon but I knew this before booking and the box fan was enough to create some airflow. I thought that the sheets/blankets on the bed were a little thin and woke up cold a couple of times but I'm sure they would have provided extra if I'd asked.

Very friendly staff who were always willing to help.

Price of room was reasonable.There are cheaper motel options in town where I have stayed before, but for an extra $30/night this is definitely a bit nicer. There are also (much) more expensive options like the Holiday Inn Express but their location is nowhere near as good and for me being here on business this was more than adequate.

Breakfast is as typical motel breakfasts go.....and it's about as good as its going to get. The hot choices are what you might expect, pre-made egg patties, ultra processed salty sausage, make your own waffles and something called biscuits and gravy. But there is also fresh fruit, boiled eggs, cereal, bagels, yogurt, danish pastries etc etc.

Breakfast in American chain motels is always a bit scary but I think that Chuck puts out a lot more than most and it probably is the best in Newport......plus it's free.....so no complaints from me.

Also want to send a shout-out to one of the ladies on reception. I "think" her name was Megan but not sure. I called up the Comfort Inn about 4 days after I had left when I realized I'd left my phone charger plugged into the wall. She couldn't find anything at first but kept looking and then discovered that it had been found and just put into the wrong box. It was very nice that she went the extra mile and didn't just check the first place that it could have been.

It would be awesome if the hotel would call guests as soon as they find out that something has been left (after all the phone charger was labeled with my room number and the date by the housekeeper) as I may have been able to swing back to pick it up, but I do appreciate her extra effort.

Overall this is nice, clean, functional, friendly place with reasonable rates in a good location. I will be returning to Newport 2-3 times a year and would hope to stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room facing the sea/coast as I would think the sea breezes would help with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bazza90036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn1, General Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Thank you for posting your review for the Comfort Inn Newport. We really appreciate the honest and forthright comments in your review and have passed on these comments to both the owners and the the staff at the Comfot Inn. Megan was delighted to see her name mentioned in your review as was I. We have purchased new sheets to replace the ones that were starting to wear a little thin and we sincerely hope that you will consider staying with us again should you ever find yourself in Newport.
Sincerely
Chuck Cummings
General Manager
Comfort Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.8 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.1 mi away
Elizabeth Oceanfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
923 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Newport
Travelodge Newport
#14 of 24 in Newport
376 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waves of Newport
Waves of Newport
#16 of 24 in Newport
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Newport

Address: 531 SW Fall St, Newport, OR 97365-5030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Price Range: $79 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Newport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Newport Hotel Newport
Newport Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing